Shortlist
Menu

DO · Dothan, AL · private · applies through AACOMAS

Alabama College of Osteopathic Medicine

Known as ACOM

COCA: AccreditationWebsiteAdmissions page
503MCAT mean · 2025
3.60GPA mean
203Class size
12%In-state matriculants
$50Secondary fee
—Secondary deadline
$61,788Tuition + fees, in state
$61,788Tuition + fees, out of state

Prerequisite coursework

Verify with the school
The school's page does not state AP, community-college, online or pass/fail policies for these courses.
CourseStatusHoursLabNotes from the school
Biology
Required8Yes2 courses with labs, 8 semester hours; 'Laboratory credits are required for all science courses.'
General/Inorganic Chemistry
Required8Yes2 courses with labs, 8 semester hours
Organic Chemistry
Required8Yes2 courses with labs, 8 semester hours. FAQ: 'ACOM does not usually accept substitutes for the required courses.'
Physics
Required8Yes2 courses with labs, 8 semester hours
English
Required6Not stated2 courses, 6 semester hours
Biochemistry, Cell Biology, Genetics, Human Anatomy, Physiology, Immunology, Microbiology, Neuroscience, Behavioral Science
Recommended—Not statedrecommended advanced coursework (not required)

Source: school-website. Verify with the school.

Who can apply

Out-of-state applicants
Not stated FAQ: 'ACOM does not accept international or non-permanent residents at this time.' 'Applicants with DACA status also cannot be considered at this time.' Requirements page: applicants must be U.S. citizens or permanent residents, maintained throughout enrollment. ACOM 'welcomes applicants ... especially those from Alabama and the surrounding region.'
International applicants
No
DACA applicants
No

Source: not recorded. Verify with the school.

Interview

Traditional / one-on-oneVirtualIn person
Format
hybrid FAQ: 'Currently, we are conducting interviews in person as well as via Zoom.' Interviews run from the end of July through the end of April.

Tags are derived from the text above by keyword; read the text before relying on a tag.

Source: school-website. Verify with the school.

Situational-judgment tests and MCAT dates

Casper
Not stated
AAMC PREview
Not stated

Casper status comes from the school's own admissions page where it states one, otherwise from published requirement lists; PREview from the school's page or the AAMC PREview policies report. Both change between cycles. Verify with the school.

Secondary application

Required
Yes
Fee
$50
Fee waiver available
Not stated
Deadline
Who receives it
FAQ: 'ACOM's current application fee is $50.00'; ACOM waives the supplemental application fee for applicants approved for the AACOMAS fee waiver. Rolling admissions.

Source: school-website. Verify with the school.

Cost of attendance and debt

In stateOut of state
Tuition and fees$61,788$61,788
Health insurance——
Total cost of attendance, year 1——

Tuition as listed on AACOM's Choose DO Explorer (self-reported by the college); fees and cost of attendance not included.

Source: AACOM Choose DO Explorer (listing with 75 campus cards) and per-college detail pages (aacom.org/detail-pages/com/...) (AACOM, retrieved 2026-10-13).

Entering class 2025

Applicants
3,815
Interviewed
1,118
Matriculated
203
MCAT (mean)
503
GPA (mean)
3.60
In-state
12%

Source: the school's published class profile (page), retrieved 2026-10-13. Statistics describe one entering class and are not cutoffs.

Notes

In-state/regional preference (college site): At ACOM, we're thrilled to welcome determined and passionate applicants from all backgrounds—especially those from Alabama and the surrounding region. [Class Profiles page:] Each class represents diverse backgrounds from across the nation, with at least 50% of each class from the Southeast, primarily Alabama and Florida. | Accreditation statement on college site: ACOM is accredited by the Commission on Osteopathic College Accreditation (COCA) of the American Osteopathic Association. ... On April 6, 2017, ACOM was granted full accreditation by COCA. At its meeting on April 11–12, 2024, COCA reviewed the report from the Comprehensive Site Visit conducted December 4–7, 2023, and voted to grant ACOM the accreditation status of Accreditation. This accreditation status, the highest recognition awarded by COCA, is valid for a ten-year period. ACOM's next comprehensive site visit is scheduled for the 2033–2034 academic year. | AACOM profile accreditation text: The Alabama College of Osteopathic Medicine (ACOM) is accredited by the Commission on Osteopathic College Accreditation (COCA). ACOM graduated its inaugural class in May 2017 and obtained full accreditation at that time. No minimum GPA or MCAT stated; competitive averages listed as 3.45 undergraduate GPA, 3.35 science GPA, 504 MCAT. Baccalaureate degree from an accredited institution required; students with 75% of the degree completed may be considered with Dean approval. Equivalent coursework may be approved by the Associate Dean of Student Services.

Sources for this page

AAMC report data may be reproduced and distributed with attribution for individual, educational and noncommercial purposes. This page is free and carries no advertising.