DO · Fort Smith, AR · private · applies through AACOMAS
Arkansas College of Osteopathic Medicine
Known as ARCOM
Prerequisite coursework
Verify with the school- Credit must be from 'a college or university accredited by any agency recognized by the U.S. Department of Education'; FAQ: 'all coursework must be completed at a regionally accredited U.S. institution.'
| Course | Status | Hours | Lab | Notes from the school |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Biological Sciences with Lab | Required | 8 | Yes | must be taken for credit and passed with 2.0 or better; 'Foreign coursework cannot be used to meet this requirement.' |
| Biochemistry | Required | 3 | Not stated | |
| Inorganic Chemistry with Laboratory | Required | 8 | Yes | '8 hours of general/college chemistry will fulfill this requirement.' |
| Organic Chemistry with Laboratory | Required | 8 | Yes | |
| Physics with Laboratory | Required | 8 | Yes | |
| Additional Science Electives | Required | 4 | Not stated | asterisk on the page is not explained |
| English Composition and Literature | Required | 6 | Not stated | |
| Genetics, human physiology, human anatomy, immunology, epidemiology, humanities, communication skills | Recommended | — | Not stated | recommended, not required |
Source: school-website. Verify with the school.
Who can apply
- Out-of-state applicants
- Yes 'ARCOM does not accept international students.' 'Applicants must be U.S. citizens or hold a permanent residency card.' Preference for applicants 'especially those from Arkansas and South Central United States'.
- International applicants
- No
- DACA applicants
- Not stated
Source: not recorded. Verify with the school.
Interview
- Format
- traditional FAQ: 'Your interviewers will include one faculty member and one community member.' Interviews begin in late July and continue through April.
Tags are derived from the text above by keyword; read the text before relying on a tag.
Source: school-website. Verify with the school.
Situational-judgment tests and MCAT dates
- Casper
- Not required source
- AAMC PREview
- Not stated
Casper status comes from the school's own admissions page where it states one, otherwise from published requirement lists; PREview from the school's page or the AAMC PREview policies report. Both change between cycles. Verify with the school.
Cost of attendance and debt
| In state | Out of state | |
|---|---|---|
| Tuition and fees | $60,500 | $60,500 |
| Health insurance | — | — |
| Total cost of attendance, year 1 | — | — |
Tuition as listed on AACOM's Choose DO Explorer (self-reported by the college); fees and cost of attendance not included.
Source: AACOM Choose DO Explorer (listing with 75 campus cards) and per-college detail pages (aacom.org/detail-pages/com/...) (AACOM, retrieved 2026-10-13).
Entering class
- Matriculated
- 150
- MCAT (mean)
- 498.7
- GPA (mean)
- 3.56
- In-state
- 12%
Source: the school's published class profile (page), retrieved 2026-10-13. Statistics describe one entering class and are not cutoffs.
Notes
In-state/regional preference (college site): Preference is given to students from rural and underserved environments ... especially those from Arkansas and South Central United States. | Accreditation statement on college site: ARCOM is Accredited by the Commission on Osteopathic College Accreditation (COCA). On April 23, 2025, ARCOM was granted the status of Accreditation with Exceptional Outcome, the highest status awarded to a program by the COCA. This accreditation status has been granted for 10 years. ARCOM's next accreditation review will be in AY 2034-2035. 'ARCOM does not have a set minimum GPA or MCAT score'; competitive applicants typically have overall GPA above 3.5, science GPA above 3.4, and 500+ MCAT. FAQ on course substitutions: 'Typically, no unless it is for the English requirement.' Minimum 90 credit hours or three-fourths of a degree. Class of 150; transfers only in rare circumstances (April 15 deadline).
Sources for this page
- aacom
- AACOM Choose DO Explorer (listing with 75 campus cards) and per-college detail pages (aacom.org/detail-pages/com/...) · AACOM, retrieved 2026-10-13
- School website (class profile and admissions pages)
- https://achehealth.edu/ · school website, retrieved 2026-10-13
- https://achehealth.edu/about/ · school website, retrieved 2026-10-13
- https://arcom.achehealth.edu/ · school website, retrieved 2026-10-13
- https://arcom.achehealth.edu/about/ · school website, retrieved 2026-10-13
- https://arcom.achehealth.edu/about/accreditation/ · school website, retrieved 2026-10-13
- https://arcom.achehealth.edu/about/deans-welcome/ · school website, retrieved 2026-10-13
- https://arcom.achehealth.edu/admissions-faqs/ · school website, retrieved 2026-10-13
- https://arcom.achehealth.edu/admissions/ · school website, retrieved 2026-10-13
- https://arcom.achehealth.edu/admissions/admissions-requirements/ · school website, retrieved 2026-10-13
- https://arcom.achehealth.edu/admissions/apply-to-arcom/ · school website, retrieved 2026-10-13
- https://osteopathic.org/2025/05/20/april-2025-accreditation-decisions-for-colleges-of-osteopathic-medicine/ · school website, retrieved 2026-10-13
- https://osteopathic.org/wp-content/uploads/2018/03/colleges-of-osteopathic-medicine.pdf · school website, retrieved 2026-10-13
- https://www.aacom.org/become-a-doctor/u-s-colleges-of-osteopathic-medicine · school website, retrieved 2026-10-13
- https://www.aacom.org/detail-pages/com/arkansas-college-of-osteopathic-medicine · school website, retrieved 2026-10-13
- https://www.aacom.org/docs/default-source/become-doctor/us-com-directory.pdf · school website, retrieved 2026-10-13
- https://www.aacom.org/docs/default-source/research-reports/applicants-matriculants-by-com-2009-2025.xlsx?sfvrsn=a3634af4_13 · school website, retrieved 2026-10-13
- https://www.aacom.org/explore-med-schools/choose-do-explorer · school website, retrieved 2026-10-13
AAMC report data may be reproduced and distributed with attribution for individual, educational and noncommercial purposes. This page is free and carries no advertising.