Shortlist
Menu

MD · Tempe, AZ · public · applies through AMCAS

Arizona State University School of Medicine and Advanced Medical Engineering (SOMME)

Known as ASU (Shufeldt)

LCME: PreliminaryWebsiteAdmissions pageClass profile()
511MCAT mean · 2026
3.79GPA mean
36Class size
—In-state matriculants
—Secondary fee
Dec 15, 2026Secondary deadline
$0Tuition + fees, in state
$0Tuition + fees, out of state

Prerequisite coursework

Verify with the school
AP credit: Case-by-caseCommunity college: YesOnline courses: Case-by-casePass/fail: Case-by-case
CourseStatusHoursLabPass/failAP creditOnlineCommunity collegeNotes from the school
Anatomy
BIOL
Recommended3NoCase-by-case
P/F only if courses taken during COVID in years 2020- 2022
Case-by-case
Case by Case AP for introductory level coursework only
Case-by-case
Case by Case Online only if taken for credit with a regionally accredited institution from the US or Canada
Yes
Biochemistry
CHEM
Recommended3NoCase-by-case
Case by Case P/F only if courses taken during COVID in years 2020- 2022
Case-by-case
Case by Case AP for introductory level coursework only
Case-by-case
Case by Case Online only if taken for credit with a regionally accredited institution from the US or Canada
Yes
Biology
BIOL
Recommended3NoCase-by-case
P/F only if courses taken during COVID in years 2020- 2022
Case-by-case
Case by Case AP for introductory level coursework only
Case-by-case
Case by Case Online only if taken for credit with a regionally accredited institution from the US or Canada
Yes
Biostatistics
MATH
Recommended3NoCase-by-case
Case by Case P/F only if courses taken during COVID in years 2020- 2022
Case-by-case
Case by Case AP for introductory level coursework only
Case-by-case
Case by Case Online only if taken for credit with a regionally accredited institution from the US or Canada
Yes
Chemistry
CHEM
Recommended3NoCase-by-case
Case by Case P/F only if courses taken during COVID in years 2020- 2022
Case-by-case
Case by Case AP for introductory level coursework only
Case-by-case
Case by Case Online only if taken for credit with a regionally accredited institution from the US or Canada
Yes
Genetics
BIOL
Recommended3NoCase-by-case
Case by Case P/F only if courses taken during COVID in years 2020- 2022
Case-by-case
Case by Case AP for introductory level coursework only
Case-by-case
Case by Case Online only if taken for credit with a regionally accredited institution from the US or Canada
Yes
Human Anatomy
BIOL
Recommended2NoCase-by-case
Case by Case P/F only if courses taken during COVID in years 2020- 2022
Case-by-case
Case by Case AP for introductory level coursework only
Case-by-case
Case by Case Online only if taken for credit with a regionally accredited institution from the US or Canada
Yes
Mathematics
MATH
Recommended3NoCase-by-case
Case by Case P/F only if courses taken during COVID in years 2020- 2022
Case-by-case
Case by Case AP for introductory level coursework only
Case-by-case
Case by Case Online only if taken for credit with a regionally accredited institution from the US or Canada
Yes
Organic Chemistry
CHEM
Recommended3NoCase-by-case
Case by Case P/F only if courses taken during COVID in years 2020- 2022
Case-by-case
Case by Case AP for introductory level coursework only
Case-by-case
Case by Case Online only if taken for credit with a regionally accredited institution from the US or Canada
Yes
Physics
PHYS
Recommended3NoCase-by-case
Case by Case P/F only if courses taken during COVID in years 2020- 2022
Case-by-case
Case by Case AP for introductory level coursework only
Case-by-case
Case by Case Online only if taken for credit with a regionally accredited institution from the US or Canada
Yes
Physiology
BIOL
Recommended3NoCase-by-case
Case by Case P/F only if courses taken during COVID in years 2020- 2022
Case-by-case
Case by Case AP for introductory level coursework only
Case-by-case
Case by Case Online only if taken for credit with a regionally accredited institution from the US or Canada
Yes
Statistics
MATH
Recommended3NoCase-by-case
Case by Case P/F only if courses taken during COVID in years 2020- 2022
Case-by-case
Case by Case AP for introductory level coursework only
Case-by-case
Case by Case Online only if taken for credit with a regionally accredited institution from the US or Canada
Yes

Community-college pathways

Upward transfer: YesAccelerated: YesSupplemental: Yes

Community college coursework is accepted if it is from a regionally accredited institution from the US or Canada.

Source: (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13).

Source: MSAR Report for Applicants and Advisors: Premed Course Requirements 2027 (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13). Verify with the school.

Admission policies, in the school's words

o Bachelor’s degree from a regionally-accredited institution in the US or Canada. - Degree can be earned with any major and/or minor. o Minimum MCAT of 504 o Undergraduate Degree GPA - Overall GPA 3.0 or higher. - BCPM (Science) GPA 3.0 or higher. o There is no required coursework or major for entry to the program. - Strongly recommended courses include general pre-med coursework (biology, chemistry, anatomy and physiology, humanities, English, behavioral sciences, and math), higher math, and physics.

Source: MSAR Report for Applicants and Advisors: Admission Policies and Information 2027 (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13). Verify with the school.

Who can apply

Out-of-state applicants
Yes Candidate must be a US citizen or permanent resident.
Canadian applicants
No
International applicants
No
DACA applicants
No
Residency preference (school's page)
Connection to Arizona, Phoenix or Arizona State University is not a requirement for admission; no residency preference is stated.

Source: (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13). Verify with the school.

Interview

Traditional / one-on-oneVirtual
Format
Three virtual, traditional interviews held the same day.
Invitations sent
July 2026
Typical interview day
Interview agendas will be provided when candidates confirm their interview date. The day will include an orientation, interviews, meetings, and presentations about the program, dean’s welcome, faculty panel, and offered support services.
Regional interviews
All interviews are virtual via Zoom
Video interviews
All interviews are conducted virtually via video.

Tags are derived from the text above by keyword; read the text before relying on a tag.

Source: MSAR Report for Applicants and Advisors: Interview Procedures 2027 (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13). Verify with the school.

Situational-judgment tests and MCAT dates

Casper
Not on official list source
AAMC PREview
Exploring (not used in decisions) source
Latest MCAT considered
September 12, 2026
Oldest MCAT considered
January 2024

Casper status comes from the school's own admissions page where it states one, otherwise from published requirement lists; PREview from the school's page or the AAMC PREview policies report. Both change between cycles. Verify with the school.

Source: (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13).

Secondary application

Required
Yes
Fee
—
Fee waiver available
Not stated
Deadline
Dec 15, 2026 December 15, 2026
Who receives it
Applicant's e-mail address from the AMCAS application

Source: (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13). Verify with the school.

Letters of evaluation

Committee letter
Accepted
Letter packet
Accepted
Individual letters
Accepted

Source: (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13). Verify with the school.

Waitlist and deposit

Typical waitlist positions
Not Available
Offers made from the waitlist
—
Procedure
Offers of admissions from the waitlist will begin in May as seats become available.
Deposit required
No

Source: (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13).

Cost of attendance and debt

In stateOut of state
Tuition and fees$0$0
Health insurance$0$0
Total cost of attendance, year 1$0$0

0% of students receive aid. Average indebtedness of indebted graduates: $0.

Source: (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13).

Entering class 2026

Applicants
832
Interviewed
213
Matriculated
36
MCAT (mean)
511 (range 504–518)
GPA (mean)
3.79 · science 3.77
Women
33%
First generation
8%

Source: the school's published class profile (page), retrieved 2026-10-13. Statistics describe one entering class and are not cutoffs.

Transfer applications

No

Source: (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13).

Mission statement

Our mission is to cultivate physicians who can integrate their medical expertise with leading-edge engineering skills in a humanistic framework and develop innovative solutions to health care challenges. Our faculty will advance clinical practice and knowledge through education and translational research to deliver a groundbreaking medical education experience that fosters uncompromised excellence in patient care, biomedical discovery, engineering solutions, and an entrepreneurial mindset. Graduates will be equipped to identify, envision, and implement creative answers to the evolving obstacles in health care for their individual patients, communities, and beyond.

Source: (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13).

Notes

New school (now named the ASU John Shufeldt School of Medicine and Medical Engineering); inaugural Class of 2030 entered 2026 (36 students; 67% men; age range 19-33; 11% with graduate degrees). Class profile labels MCAT as 'Average MCAT score 511' but lists 'Undergraduate total GPA 3.79' and 'science GPA 3.77' without a mean/median label (recorded here as means). Minimum MCAT 504 with no exceptions (needed for a secondary and an interview); minimum 3.0 overall and science GPA (or 2.8 with MCAT 506+ / post-bac or graduate degree with 3.0); four letters of recommendation required; U.S. citizens and permanent residents only; MD includes a concurrent medical-engineering degree program. Secondary fee amount and interview format not stated on the fetched pages.

Sources for this page

AAMC report data may be reproduced and distributed with attribution for individual, educational and noncommercial purposes. This page is free and carries no advertising.