Shortlist
Menu

DO · Memphis, TN · private · applies through AACOMAS

Baptist Health Sciences University College of Osteopathic Medicine

Known as BUCOM

COCA: Pre-accreditationWebsiteAdmissions page
498.4MCAT mean
3.50GPA mean
114Class size
27%In-state matriculants
$50Secondary fee
Mar 15, 2027Secondary deadline
$55,166Tuition + fees, in state
$55,166Tuition + fees, out of state

Prerequisite coursework

Verify with the school
The school's page does not state AP, community-college, online or pass/fail policies for these courses.
CourseStatusHoursLabNotes from the school
Biological Sciences
Required8Yes'Including a course in General Biology or Zoology'; 'Course work must include lab credit'
Biochemistry
Required3Not stated
Inorganic Chemistry
Required8Yes
Organic Chemistry
Required8Yes
Physics
Required8Yes
English
Required6Not stated
Additional Science Course work
Recommended4Yes'Anatomy, Physiology, Immunology, Cellular Biology, Microbiology, or Genetics, but not limited to'

Source: school-website. Verify with the school.

Interview

Traditional / one-on-oneIn person
Format
in_person Timeline: 'Interviews are hosted in-person in small cohorts on Wednesdays or Thursdays.'

Tags are derived from the text above by keyword; read the text before relying on a tag.

Source: school-website. Verify with the school.

Situational-judgment tests and MCAT dates

Casper
Not stated
AAMC PREview
Not stated

Casper status comes from the school's own admissions page where it states one, otherwise from published requirement lists; PREview from the school's page or the AAMC PREview policies report. Both change between cycles. Verify with the school.

Secondary application

Required
Yes
Fee
$50
Fee waiver available
Not stated
Deadline
Mar 15, 2027 March 15 (AACOMAS deadline March 1)
Who receives it
'Submit $50 supplemental application fee'; waived for applicants granted an AACOMAS fee waiver. Applicants need a verified AACOMAS application and an MCAT score for file review.

Source: school-website. Verify with the school.

Cost of attendance and debt

In stateOut of state
Tuition and fees$55,166$55,166
Health insurance——
Total cost of attendance, year 1——

Tuition as listed on AACOM's Choose DO Explorer (self-reported by the college); fees and cost of attendance not included.

Source: AACOM Choose DO Explorer (listing with 75 campus cards) and per-college detail pages (aacom.org/detail-pages/com/...) (AACOM, retrieved 2026-10-13).

Entering class

Matriculated
114
MCAT (mean)
498.4
GPA (mean)
3.50
In-state
27%

Source: the school's published class profile (page), retrieved 2026-10-13. Statistics describe one entering class and are not cutoffs.

Notes

In-state/regional preference (college site): Preference may be given to students from rural and/or underserved environments that are more likely to advance the mission and goals of BUCOM, especially those from Arkansas, Mississippi, Tennessee and other Mississippi Delta regions. | Accreditation statement on college site: Osteopathic medical schools are accredited by the American Osteopathic Association Commission on Osteopathic College Accreditation (COCA), recognized to accredit osteopathic medical education by the U.S. Department of Education. BUCOM has met the standards set in place by COCA and currently has pre-accreditation status. (2026-2027 BUCOM Academic Catalog, 'PROGRAM ACCREDITATION'; identical wording in the 2025-2026 catalog) | AACOM profile accreditation text: The Baptist Health Sciences University College of Osteopathic Medicine (BUCOM) will opened in 2024 with its inaugural class of medical students and offers the Doctor of Osteopathic Medicine (DO) degree. Cumulative GPA 3.0 and prerequisite GPA 3.0 (4.0 scale). Matriculants must meet BUCOM Technical Standards.

Sources for this page

AAMC report data may be reproduced and distributed with attribution for individual, educational and noncommercial purposes. This page is free and carries no advertising.