Shortlist
Menu

MD · Los Angeles, CA · private · applies through AMCAS

Charles R. Drew University of Medicine and Science College of Medicine

Known as Charles R. Drew (CDU)

LCME: ProvisionalWebsiteAdmissions page[email protected](323) 563-9393
—MCAT
—GPA
60Class size
72%In-state matriculants (AAMC 2025)
—Secondary fee
Dec 1, 2026Secondary deadline
$71,616Tuition + fees, in state
$71,616Tuition + fees, out of state

Prerequisite coursework

Verify with the school
AP credit: Varies by courseCommunity college: YesOnline courses: Varies by coursePass/fail: No
CourseStatusHoursLabPass/failAP creditOnlineCommunity collegeNotes from the school
Biochemistry
CHEM
Recommended3NoNoNoYesYes
Biology
BIOL
Required6YesNoNoYesYes
Chemistry
CHEM
Required6YesNoNoYesYes
Composition & Rhetoric
ENGL
Required4NoNoNoYesYes
Mathematics
MATH
Required4NoNoYesYesYesCalculus
Organic Chemistry
CHEM
Required6YesNoNoNoYes
Physics
PHYS
Required4YesNoNoYesYes
Psychology
BESS
Recommended3NoNoNoYesYes
Sociology
BESS
Recommended3NoNoNoYesYes

Community-college pathways

Upward transfer: YesAccelerated: YesSupplemental: Yes

community college courses are accepted for prerequisite courses (including English, Biology, Calculus, Chemistry, and Physics)

Source: (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13).

Source: MSAR Report for Applicants and Advisors: Premed Course Requirements 2027 (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13). Verify with the school.

Admission policies, in the school's words

The charge of the Admissions Committee is to select candidates for admission to the COM MD Program according to the policy and guarantee the selection of prospective medical students for admission is not influenced by any political or financial factors. The MD Program Admissions Committee will use a holistic admissions process that prioritizes sustained, demonstrated community service in under-resourced communities, and provides balanced consideration to academic performance and other items like “distance traveled,” firstgeneration college students, socio-economically disadvantaged students (pell grant recipients), veterans, and applicants currently serving in the military.

Source: MSAR Report for Applicants and Advisors: Admission Policies and Information 2027 (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13). Verify with the school.

Who can apply

Out-of-state applicants
Yes Out-of-state applicants can be accepted.
Canadian applicants
No
International applicants
No
DACA applicants
No

Source: (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13). Verify with the school.

Interview

MMIVirtual
Format
Virtual multiple miniinterviews with faculty
Invitations sent
September 2026
Typical interview day
Based on a thorough and comparative evaluation of the AMCAS application, supplemental information, and letters of recommendation, the candidate receives a request for virtual interview sessions with CDU faculty. It will consist of two virtual interviews
Regional interviews
Regional interviews are not available.
Video interviews
Yes
School's admissions page says
All interviews are conducted virtually with CDU faculty (MMI vs traditional not stated).

Tags are derived from the text above by keyword; read the text before relying on a tag.

Source: MSAR Report for Applicants and Advisors: Interview Procedures 2027 (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13). Verify with the school.

Situational-judgment tests and MCAT dates

Casper
Not required source
AAMC PREview
Not used "We are not using PREview scores in the admissions process" source
Latest MCAT considered
September 01, 2026
Oldest MCAT considered
July 2023

Casper status comes from the school's own admissions page where it states one, otherwise from published requirement lists; PREview from the school's page or the AAMC PREview policies report. Both change between cycles. Verify with the school.

Source: (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13).

Secondary application

Required
Yes
Fee
—
Fee waiver available
Not stated
Deadline
Dec 1, 2026 December 01, 2026
Who receives it
Screened applicants after a preliminary review not all applicants receive a secondary

Source: (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13). Verify with the school.

Letters of evaluation

Committee letter
Accepted
Letter packet
Accepted
Individual letters
Accepted

Source: (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13). Verify with the school.

Waitlist and deposit

Typical waitlist positions
90
Offers made from the waitlist
10
Procedure
We will call and email the next person in line by rank if a position is open
Deposit required
Yes in state $50 · out of state $50
Deposit due
April 29, 2026
Refundable / applied to tuition
No Yes

Source: (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13).

Cost of attendance and debt

In stateOut of state
Tuition and fees$71,616$71,616
Health insurance$5,066$5,066
Total cost of attendance, year 1$137,117$137,117

98% of students receive aid. Average indebtedness of indebted graduates: $0.

Source: (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13).

Official AAMC counts, 2025-2026

Applications
6,639 (37.3% in-state)
Matriculants
60 (71.7% in-state, 28.3% out-of-state; 55% women)
Applications per seat
111

Source: AAMC FACTS Table A-1: Applications and Matriculants by School, State of Legal Residence, and Gender, 2025-2026 (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13).

Entering class

Matriculated
60

Source: the school's published class profile, retrieved 2026-10-13. Statistics describe one entering class and are not cutoffs.

Transfer applications

No

Source: (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13).

Mission statement

• The mission of the College of Medicine is to provide education, research and clinical service in the context of community engagement in order to train physician leaders who promote wellness, who provide care with excellence and compassion, and who are committed to transforming the health of diverse and underserved communities. • Vision Statement: Excellent health and wellness for all in a world without health disparities.

Source: (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13).

Notes

Independent CDU MD program; FAQ states each cohort is 60 students (total enrollment 240). No GPA/MCAT class statistics published; the school refers applicants to the AAMC MSAR. Only applicants with an MCAT of 500 or higher advance to the next stage; MCAT must be attempted by September of the year before admission and retaken if more than six years old at matriculation; prerequisites must be within the past 10 years. Supplemental application has no fee.

Sources for this page

AAMC report data may be reproduced and distributed with attribution for individual, educational and noncommercial purposes. This page is free and carries no advertising.