Shortlist
Menu

MD · NS · applies through AMCAS

Dalhousie University Faculty of Medicine

Accreditation not recordedWebsite[email protected](902) 494-1874
—MCAT
—GPA
—Class size
—In-state matriculants
—Secondary fee
Sep 3, 2026Secondary deadline
$26,270Tuition + fees, in state
$0Tuition + fees, out of state

Prerequisite coursework

Verify with the school

No specific courses listed in the AAMC report. See the admission policies below for competency expectations.

Community-college pathways

Upward transfer: NoAccelerated: NoSupplemental: No

We do not accept community college coursework.

Source: (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13).

Source: not recorded. Verify with the school.

Admission policies, in the school's words

The Admissions Office facilitates and processes all undergraduate applications for the Faculty of Medicine. Beginning with the 2026 application (entry in August 2027) entrance to the Dalhousie MD program is currently 167 domestic students annually. Applicants must be Canadian citizens or Canadian permanent residents at the time of application. International students are not eligible for domestic positions. Admission by transfer is not available for the undergraduate medical education program. To apply to Dalhousie Medical School, the Faculty of Medicine Admissions "place of residence" definition and the information provided by the applicant in the completed application form determine the applicant category. The decision of the Faculty of Medicine Admissions regarding the place of residency category of each applicant is final and not subject to appeal. It is strongly recommended that applicants provide detailed residency history information in the designated application section. For more details regarding residency, see ‘Place of Residence’ on the Admissions website. The Admissions Office facilitates and processes all undergraduate applications for the Faculty of Medicine. Entrance to the Dalhousie MD program is currently 134 students annually: 87 positions for Nova Scotia residents (Halifax Campus) 30 positions for Nova Scotia residents (Cape Breton Campus) 40 positions for New Brunswick residents 4 positions for Prince Edward Island residents 6 positions for other Canadian residents in the Indigenous Admissions Pathway and/or Black Learners Admissions Pathway The number of positions are subject to change and will be updated on the Dalhousie Medicine Admissions website. Admission by transfer is not available for the undergraduate medical education program. Dalhousie Medicine presently has two physical campuses. Seat allocation to each campus is based on an applicant's place of residence.

Source: MSAR Report for Applicants and Advisors: Admission Policies and Information 2027 (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13). Verify with the school.

Who can apply

Out-of-state applicants
Yes Out of province positions are reserved for applicant in the Indigenous Admissions Pathway and/or Black Learners Admissions Pathway at the Halifax Campus.
Canadian applicants
Not stated
International applicants
No
DACA applicants
Not stated

Source: (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13). Verify with the school.

Interview

MMIVirtual
Format
Interview format is a virtual Multiple Mini Interview.
Invitations sent
November 2026
Typical interview day
https://medicine.dal.ca/dep artments/coreunits/admissions/applicatio n-process/interview.html
Regional interviews
Regional interviews are not available.
Video interviews
Interviews have been adapted to virtual format. Please monitor website for updates.

Tags are derived from the text above by keyword; read the text before relying on a tag.

Source: MSAR Report for Applicants and Advisors: Interview Procedures 2027 (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13). Verify with the school.

Situational-judgment tests and MCAT dates

Casper
Not stated
AAMC PREview
Not stated
Latest MCAT considered
August 08, 2026
Oldest MCAT considered
January 2021

Casper status comes from the school's own admissions page where it states one, otherwise from published requirement lists; PREview from the school's page or the AAMC PREview policies report. Both change between cycles. Verify with the school.

Source: (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13).

Secondary application

Required
Yes
Fee
—
Fee waiver available
Yes
Deadline
Sep 3, 2026 Sept 3, 2026
Who receives it
All applicants who submit Step 1

Source: (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13). Verify with the school.

Letters of evaluation

Committee letter
Not accepted
Letter packet
Not accepted
Individual letters
Not accepted

Source: (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13). Verify with the school.

Waitlist and deposit

Typical waitlist positions
20-30
Offers made from the waitlist
—
Deposit required
Yes in state $500 · out of state $500
Deposit due
May 15, 2026
Refundable / applied to tuition
No Yes

Source: (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13).

Cost of attendance and debt

In stateOut of state
Tuition and fees$26,270$0
Health insurance$0$0
Total cost of attendance, year 1$0$0

0% of students receive aid. Average indebtedness of indebted graduates: $0.

Source: (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13).

Transfer applications

No

Source: (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13).

Mission statement

The mission of Dalhousie University's Faculty of Medicine is to drive excellence in health and health care through world-class medical education and research, and our commitment to social accountability. The Faculty of Medicine is responsible for providing a program of undergraduate medical study such that graduates have the knowledge, skills, professional behaviours and attitudes necessary to enter the supervised practice of medicine in Canada

Source: (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13).

Sources for this page

AAMC report data may be reproduced and distributed with attribution for individual, educational and noncommercial purposes. This page is free and carries no advertising.