Shortlist
Menu

DO · West Des Moines, IA · private · applies through AACOMAS

Des Moines University College of Osteopathic Medicine

Known as DMU-COM

COCA: AccreditationWebsiteAdmissions page
507MCAT mean · 2025
3.70GPA published
229Class size
16%In-state matriculants
—Secondary fee
—Secondary deadline
$68,620Tuition + fees, in state
$68,620Tuition + fees, out of state

Prerequisite coursework

Verify with the school
AP credit: NoCommunity college: Not statedOnline courses: Not statedPass/fail: No
CourseStatusHoursLabPass/failAP creditOnlineCommunity collegeNotes from the school
Biology/Zoology
Required8YesNoNoNot statedNot stated8 semester hours; labs required when available; 'Prerequisite coursework requires a grade of C or higher.'
General Chemistry
Required8YesNoNoNot statedNot stated8 semester hours; labs required when available
Organic Chemistry
Required4YesNoNoNot statedNot stated4 semester hours; labs required when available
Biochemistry
Required3Not statedNoNoNot statedNot stated3 semester hours
Physics
Required8YesNoNoNot statedNot stated8 semester hours; labs required when available; up to 3 semester hours of statistics may substitute for 3 semester hours of physics
English, English Composition, Speech or Literature
Required6Not statedNoNoNot statedNot stated6 semester hours
Cell biology, microbiology, immunology, genetics, physiology, anatomy
Recommended—Not statedNoNoNot statedNot statedrecommended, not required

Source: school-website. Verify with the school.

Who can apply

Out-of-state applicants
Not stated FAQ: 'Only U.S. citizens or legal permanent residents are eligible for admission to DMU's DO program.' Applicants with pending permanent residency are not eligible. Bachelor's degree from a regionally accredited U.S. college or university. Graduates of MD/DO or equivalent programs (U.S. or international) are ineligible.
International applicants
No
DACA applicants
Not stated

Source: not recorded. Verify with the school.

Interview

Traditional / one-on-oneVirtual
Format
traditional virtual 'A virtual dean's overview featuring a presentation about the program and a live Q&A with current students' and 'A live virtual interview with a DMU faculty member.'

Tags are derived from the text above by keyword; read the text before relying on a tag.

Source: school-website. Verify with the school.

Situational-judgment tests and MCAT dates

Casper
Not stated
AAMC PREview
Accepted source

Casper status comes from the school's own admissions page where it states one, otherwise from published requirement lists; PREview from the school's page or the AAMC PREview policies report. Both change between cycles. Verify with the school.

Cost of attendance and debt

In stateOut of state
Tuition and fees$68,620$68,620
Health insurance——
Total cost of attendance, year 1——

Tuition as listed on AACOM's Choose DO Explorer (self-reported by the college); fees and cost of attendance not included.

Source: AACOM Choose DO Explorer (listing with 75 campus cards) and per-college detail pages (aacom.org/detail-pages/com/...) (AACOM, retrieved 2026-10-13).

Entering class 2025

Matriculated
229
MCAT (mean)
507
GPA (published)
3.70 · science 3.60
In-state
16%

Source: the school's published class profile (page), retrieved 2026-10-13. Statistics describe one entering class and are not cutoffs.

Notes

Accreditation statement on college site: DMU's College of Osteopathic Medicine is accredited by the Commission on Osteopathic College Accreditation of the American Osteopathic Association. (university accreditation page adds: 'We are fully accredited by the COCA through 2028.') | AACOM profile accreditation text: Des Moines University College of Osteopathic Medicine is accredited by the Commission on Osteopathic College Accreditation (COCA). The university is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission of the North Central Association of Colleges and Schools. Recommended minimum GPA 2.8 cumulative and science ('all applications are considered'); successful applicants typically around 3.7 cumulative, 3.6 science, 507 MCAT. Transcripts must be from regionally accredited U.S. institutions. $750 seat deposits; background check and drug screen.

Sources for this page

AAMC report data may be reproduced and distributed with attribution for individual, educational and noncommercial purposes. This page is free and carries no advertising.