DO · Buffalo, NY · private · applies through AACOMAS
D'Youville University College of Osteopathic Medicine
Known as DYU-COM
Prerequisite coursework
Verify with the school- AP credit accepted toward prerequisites with AP scores of 4 or 5 (IB 6 or 7); Registrar may need to send a verification letter.
- Pass/Fail (P/S) grades from COVID-19 pandemic semesters are accepted if traditional grading was unavailable.
| Course | Status | Hours | Lab | Pass/fail | AP credit | Online | Community college | Notes from the school |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| English | Required | 6 | Not stated | Case-by-case | Yes | Not stated | Not stated | 6 semester hours, required only if the undergraduate degree came from a non-English-speaking institution |
| Biology | Required | 4 | Yes | Case-by-case | Yes | Not stated | Not stated | 4 semester hours with lab; 'General biology or zoology acceptable'; minimum grade of C in all prerequisites |
| General Chemistry | Required | 8 | Yes | Case-by-case | Yes | Not stated | Not stated | 8 semester hours with lab |
| Organic Chemistry I | Required | 4 | Yes | Case-by-case | Yes | Not stated | Not stated | 4 semester hours with lab |
| Organic Chemistry II | Required | 4 | Yes | Case-by-case | Yes | Not stated | Not stated | 4 semester hours with lab; 'Biochemistry (with or without lab) may substitute' |
| Physics | Required | 4 | Yes | Case-by-case | Yes | Not stated | Not stated | minimum 4 semester hours with lab |
| Mathematics and/or Computer Science | Required | 3 | Not stated | Case-by-case | Yes | Not stated | Not stated | minimum 3 semester hours |
| Behavioral Sciences | Required | 6 | Not stated | Case-by-case | Yes | Not stated | Not stated | minimum 6 semester hours; examples: psychology, sociology, anthropology |
Source: school-website. Verify with the school.
Who can apply
- Out-of-state applicants
- Not stated Must be a U.S. citizen or U.S. permanent resident; pending residency, F-1 visa holders and temporary residents are not eligible.
- International applicants
- No
- DACA applicants
- Not stated
Source: not recorded. Verify with the school.
Interview
- Format
- An admissions interview is required for consideration.
Tags are derived from the text above by keyword; read the text before relying on a tag.
Source: school-website. Verify with the school.
Situational-judgment tests and MCAT dates
- Casper
- Not stated
- AAMC PREview
- Not stated
Casper status comes from the school's own admissions page where it states one, otherwise from published requirement lists; PREview from the school's page or the AAMC PREview policies report. Both change between cycles. Verify with the school.
Cost of attendance and debt
| In state | Out of state | |
|---|---|---|
| Tuition and fees | $55,000 | $55,000 |
| Health insurance | — | — |
| Total cost of attendance, year 1 | — | — |
Tuition as listed on AACOM's Choose DO Explorer (self-reported by the college); fees and cost of attendance not included.
Source: AACOM Choose DO Explorer (listing with 75 campus cards) and per-college detail pages (aacom.org/detail-pages/com/...) (AACOM, retrieved 2026-10-13).
Entering class
- Matriculated
- 96
- In-state
- 46%
Source: the school's published class profile, retrieved 2026-10-13. Statistics describe one entering class and are not cutoffs.
Notes
Accreditation statement on college site: D'Youville University College of Osteopathic Medicine (DYU-COM) is accredited by the Commission on Osteopathic College Accreditation (COCA) with Pre-Accreditation Status. This designation affirms that DYU-COM has demonstrated the structures, policies, and resources necessary to provide a quality osteopathic medical education and represents a key milestone on the path to full accreditation. With Pre-Accreditation Status, DYU-COM is permitted to recruit and enroll students. | AACOM profile accreditation text: Pre-accreditation status FAQ states at least a 3.2 science and 3.2 overall GPA; the Program Requirements section calls 3.2 GPA and 501 MCAT 'recommended' while the Enrollment section lists 501 as mandatory and 3.2 'strongly preferred'. First class Fall 2026; COCA pre-accreditation. No transfer credit for the DO program.
Sources for this page
- aacom
- AACOM Choose DO Explorer (listing with 75 campus cards) and per-college detail pages (aacom.org/detail-pages/com/...) · AACOM, retrieved 2026-10-13
- School website (class profile and admissions pages)
- https://osteopathic.org/2025/08/29/august-2025-accreditation-decisions-for-colleges-of-osteopathic-medicine/ · school website, retrieved 2026-10-13
- https://osteopathic.org/wp-content/uploads/2018/03/colleges-of-osteopathic-medicine.pdf · school website, retrieved 2026-10-13
- https://www.aacom.org/become-a-doctor/u-s-colleges-of-osteopathic-medicine · school website, retrieved 2026-10-13
- https://www.aacom.org/detail-pages/com/dyouville-university-college-of-osteopathic-medicine · school website, retrieved 2026-10-13
- https://www.aacom.org/docs/default-source/become-doctor/us-com-directory.pdf · school website, retrieved 2026-10-13
- https://www.aacom.org/explore-med-schools/choose-do-explorer · school website, retrieved 2026-10-13
- https://www.dyu.edu/about/accreditation · school website, retrieved 2026-10-13
- https://www.dyu.edu/academics/degrees-programs/osteopathic-medicine-do · school website, retrieved 2026-10-13
- https://www.dyu.edu/medicine · school website, retrieved 2026-10-13
- https://www.dyu.edu/news/2025/09/03/dyouville-university-approved-enroll-students-new-college-medicine · school website, retrieved 2026-10-13
- https://www.dyu.edu/news/2026/01/15/dyouville-university-college-medicine-sees-strong-early-enrollment-momentum · school website, retrieved 2026-10-13
- https://www.dyu.edu/news/2026/04/02/dyouville-university-college-medicine-fully-enrolls-inaugural-class · school website, retrieved 2026-10-13
- https://www.dyu.edu/news/2026/09/21/dyouvilles-inaugural-medical-school-class-takes-next-step-historical-white-coat · school website, retrieved 2026-10-13
AAMC report data may be reproduced and distributed with attribution for individual, educational and noncommercial purposes. This page is free and carries no advertising.