MD · Washington, DC · private · applies through AMCAS
Georgetown University School of Medicine
Known as Georgetown
Prerequisite coursework
Verify with the school| Course | Status | Hours | Lab | Pass/fail | AP credit | Online | Community college | Notes from the school |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Biochemistry CHEM | Recommended | 3 | No | No | Yes | No | Yes | Biochemistry (lab not required) may replace a second semester of Organic Chemistry with lab. |
| Biology BIOL | Required | 8 | Yes | No | Yes | No | Yes | |
| Chemistry CHEM | Required | 16 | Yes | No | Yes | No | Yes | General Chemistry I and II & Organic Chemistry I and II. |
| Mathematics MATH | Required | 3 | No | No | Yes | No | Yes | College Algebra level or higher |
| Physics PHYS | Required | 8 | Yes | No | Yes | No | Yes |
Community-college pathways
GUSOM accepts prerequisites completed at the community college level. In order to be competitive in the selection process, we encourage prospective applicants with community college prerequisites to supplement these courses by taking advanced courses in related subjects at their four year institution.
Source: MSAR Report for Applicants and Advisors: Premed Course Requirements 2027 (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13). Verify with the school.
Admission policies, in the school's words
https://som.georgetown.edu/admissions/degrees-and-admissions/md/guide/
Source: MSAR Report for Applicants and Advisors: Admission Policies and Information 2027 (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13). Verify with the school.
Who can apply
- Out-of-state applicants
- Yes We accept out-of-state students
- Canadian applicants
- Case-by-case https://som.georgetown.edu/admissions/degrees-and-admissions/md/
- International applicants
- Case-by-case https://som.georgetown.edu/admissions/degrees-and-admissions/md/
- DACA applicants
- Yes DACA recipients are eligible to apply.
- DACA details
- DACA recipients are eligible to apply.
- Residency preference (school's page)
- The Guide to Application states that all applications are considered without regard to residency, citizenship or visa status, and the FAQ notes there is no in-state versus out-of-state tuition.
Source: (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13). Verify with the school.
Interview
- Format
- Interviews are one-on-one and conducted virtually.
- Invitations sent
- mid-July
- Typical interview day
- Invited candidates must attend a virtual presentation prior to the interview. These presentations are held on Mondays from mid-AugustJanuary, except holidays. Virtual interviews are scheduled Tuesday-Friday from September through February. Applicants receive one interview, conducted virtually, by a member of the basic science faculty, clinical faculty, or a selected fourth-year medical student. Interviews last approximately 45 minutes and provide the Committee on Admissions with information on the applicant’s non-cognitive skills. Candidates are encouraged to discuss their unique background, motivation, interests, and goals during the interview.
- School's admissions page says
- All interviews are conducted virtually via Zoom (MMI vs traditional not stated).
Tags are derived from the text above by keyword; read the text before relying on a tag.
Source: MSAR Report for Applicants and Advisors: Interview Procedures 2027 (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13). Verify with the school.
Situational-judgment tests and MCAT dates
- Casper
- Not on official list source
- AAMC PREview
- Not used "We are not using PREview scores in the admissions" source
- Latest MCAT considered
- September 12, 2026
- Oldest MCAT considered
- January 2024
Casper status comes from the school's own admissions page where it states one, otherwise from published requirement lists; PREview from the school's page or the AAMC PREview policies report. Both change between cycles. Verify with the school.
Secondary application
- Required
- Yes
- Fee
- $140
- Fee waiver available
- Yes
- Deadline
- Nov 15, 2026 MD/PhD Application: 11/15/26, MD Application: 12/15/26
- Who receives it
- All applicants
Source: (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13). Verify with the school.
Letters of evaluation
- Committee letter
- Preferred
- Letter packet
- Accepted
- Individual letters
- Accepted
Source: (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13). Verify with the school.
Waitlist and deposit
- Typical waitlist positions
- —
- Offers made from the waitlist
- —
- Procedure
- N/A
- Deposit required
- Yes in state $500 · out of state $500
- Deposit due
- April 30, 2026
- Refundable / applied to tuition
- Yes Yes
Cost of attendance and debt
| In state | Out of state | |
|---|---|---|
| Tuition and fees | $76,603 | $76,603 |
| Health insurance | $4,527 | $4,527 |
| Total cost of attendance, year 1 | $114,380 | $114,380 |
64% of students receive aid. Average indebtedness of indebted graduates: $248,805.
Official AAMC counts, 2025-2026
- Applications
- 14,542 (0.6% in-state)
- Matriculants
- 203 (3.4% in-state, 96.6% out-of-state; 60.6% women)
- Applications per seat
- 72
Source: AAMC FACTS Table A-1: Applications and Matriculants by School, State of Legal Residence, and Gender, 2025-2026 (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13).
Entering class
- Applicants
- 14,953
- Interviewed
- 1,112
- Matriculated
- 203
- MCAT (mean)
- 514
- GPA (mean)
- 3.74
- Women
- 59%
Source: the school's published class profile (page), retrieved 2026-10-13. Statistics describe one entering class and are not cutoffs.
Transfer applications
No
Mission statement
Georgetown University School of Medicine is heir to the Jesuit traditions of care of the sick and commitment to service and social justice. The School embodies the university’s dedication to the pursuit of knowledge in service to others through excellence in clinical care, scientific discovery, and the formation of physician-healers. The Georgetown medical experience is grounded in Cura Personalis, care for the whole person encompassing psychological, spiritual, social, and physical well-being. Within an environment integrating rigorous scientific inquiry and compassionate clinical practice, students develop the intellectual, ethical, and professional foundations required to become clinically excellent physicians, innovative scientists, and advocates for underserved communities. Georgetown’s educational mission is strengthened by a culture of research and scholarship. Dual-degree opportunities, including MD-PhD programs in neuroscience, tumor biology, bioethics, and related biomedical sciences, prepare physician-scientists to advance discovery while improving patient care. Clinical education occurs through Georgetown’s partnership with MedStar Health across diverse, high-acuity training environments including MedStar Georgetown University Hospital and MedStar Washington Hospital Center. Students gain experience in oncology, orthopedics, neuroscience, gastroenterology, trauma surgery, transplantation, and complex multidisciplinary care. The MedStar Georgetown Transplant Institute provides exposure to advanced multi-organ and intestinal transplantation and highly specialized medical and surgical care. This rigorous clinical training fosters analytical thinking, sound clinical judgment, and evidence-based decision-making while emphasizing compassionate, whole-person care grounded in Jesuit values. Graduates emerge prepared to serve individual patients and advocate for communities with unmet healthcare needs. Georgetown University School of Medicine seeks applicants committed to becoming physician-healers, scientists, and advocates. Service to the underserved remains central to the admissions philosophy and reflective of the Jesuit mission. Independent Scholarly Project (ISP) All medical students complete an Independent Scholarly Project (ISP), a mentored scholarly experience in which students investigate original questions across clinical, translational, educational, or basic science disciplines. The ISP strengthens skills in critical analysis, scientific communication, and evidence-based medicine while reinforcing Georgetown’s commitment to discovery in service of patient care. Racial Justice Committee for Change (RJCC) Guided by commitments to racial justice and health equity, Georgetown supports efforts to eliminate racism across the School of Medicine and medical center. The Racial Justice Committee for Change, composed of students, faculty, and staff, advances sustainable initiatives promoting equity and inclusion in medical education and healthcare delivery. Curriculum Georgetown’s holistic curriculum reflects its Catholic and Jesuit heritage and commitment to social justice. Critical thinking, cognitive integration, and lifelong learning guide curricular design. Cura Personalis unites longitudinal instruction in clinical skills, communication, ethics, and professional identity formation. Community Service Students complete a minimum of 20 hours of community service prior to graduation, reflecting Georgetown’s commitment to service and individualized attention to community needs beyond clinical training. Student Life and Support Services Located in Washington, D.C., Georgetown provides a dynamic environment supporting leadership, advocacy, and interdisciplinary collaboration while ensuring access to educational, spiritual, psychological, and medical resources that promote student wellbeing.
Notes
The 'M.D. Class Profile' section on the MD program page does not state which entering class it describes; women/men listed as 119/84 (pct_women computed), age range 21-44. FAQ says the school receives approximately 16,000+ AMCAS applications per year and that a highly competitive applicant has a BCPM GPA of 3.6 or higher (not a cutoff). 90 credit hours required at application; MCAT from the three years before matriculation.
Sources for this page
- MSAR Report for Applicants and Advisors: Premed Course Requirements 2027 · AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13
- MSAR Report for Applicants and Advisors: Admission Policies and Information 2027 · AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13
- · AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13
- · AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13
- MSAR Report for Applicants and Advisors: Interview Procedures 2027 · AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13
- · AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13
- · AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13
- · AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13
- · AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13
- · AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13
- · AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13
- · AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13
- · AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13
- · AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13
- · AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13
- · AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13
- · AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13
- School website (class profile and admissions pages)
- LCME Directory - Accredited Programs
- AAMC FACTS Table A-1: Applications and Matriculants by School, State of Legal Residence, and Gender, 2025-2026 · AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13
- https://meded.georgetown.edu/admissions/degrees-and-admissions/md/ · school website, retrieved 2026-10-13
- https://meded.georgetown.edu/admissions/degrees-and-admissions/md/faq-2/ · school website, retrieved 2026-10-13
- https://meded.georgetown.edu/admissions/degrees-and-admissions/md/guide/ · school website, retrieved 2026-10-13
AAMC report data may be reproduced and distributed with attribution for individual, educational and noncommercial purposes. This page is free and carries no advertising.