Shortlist
Menu

DO · Chicago, IL · private · applies through AACOMAS

Illinois College of Osteopathic Medicine at The Chicago School

Known as IllinoisCOM

COCA: Pre-accreditationWebsiteAdmissions page
—MCAT
—GPA
91Class size
—In-state matriculants
—Secondary fee
—Secondary deadline
$64,668Tuition + fees, in state
$64,668Tuition + fees, out of state

Prerequisite coursework

Verify with the school
Biochemistry may replace Organic II (stated)The school's page does not state AP, community-college, online or pass/fail policies for these courses.
CourseStatusHoursLabNotes from the school
Biology with labs
Required12Yes12 credit hours including at least 4 in advanced topics (e.g., anatomy, cellular or molecular biology) and two labs; grade of C or above
General Chemistry with labs
Required8Yesminimum two courses, any combination of general and inorganic chemistry, and two labs
Organic Chemistry with labs
Required8Yesminimum two courses and two labs; 'Biochemistry may replace one organic chemistry course'
Physics with lab
Required6Yesminimum two courses, including one lab
English
Required6Not statedminimum two courses
Humanities
Required3Not stated'including but not limited to philosophy, theology, speech, debate, or theater'
Psychology
Required3Not stated

Source: school-website. Verify with the school.

Who can apply

Out-of-state applicants
Not stated IllinoisCOM 'does not currently accept or enroll international students'; applicants must be a U.S. citizen or permanent resident.
International applicants
No
DACA applicants
Not stated

Source: not recorded. Verify with the school.

Interview

Traditional / one-on-oneVirtual
Format
virtual Virtual interview with faculty, administration, and staff.

Tags are derived from the text above by keyword; read the text before relying on a tag.

Source: school-website. Verify with the school.

Situational-judgment tests and MCAT dates

Casper
Not stated
AAMC PREview
Not stated

Casper status comes from the school's own admissions page where it states one, otherwise from published requirement lists; PREview from the school's page or the AAMC PREview policies report. Both change between cycles. Verify with the school.

Cost of attendance and debt

In stateOut of state
Tuition and fees$64,668$64,668
Health insurance——
Total cost of attendance, year 1——

Tuition as listed on AACOM's Choose DO Explorer (self-reported by the college); fees and cost of attendance not included.

Source: AACOM Choose DO Explorer (listing with 75 campus cards) and per-college detail pages (aacom.org/detail-pages/com/...) (AACOM, retrieved 2026-10-13).

Entering class

Matriculated
91

Source: the school's published class profile, retrieved 2026-10-13. Statistics describe one entering class and are not cutoffs.

Notes

Accreditation statement on college site: Illinois College of Osteopathic Medicine's DO program has been granted pre-accreditation status from the American Osteopathic Association's Commission on Osteopathic College Accreditation (COCA). | AACOM profile accreditation text: lllinoisCOM at The Chicago School has received the status of Pre-Accreditation by the Commission on Osteopathic College Accreditation (COCA) , the highest level of accreditation awarded to a new COM until graduating its first class. Recommended cumulative GPA 3.0 or higher and science GPA 3.3 or higher. Other substitutions 'permitted in some situations' (e.g., cellular biology for biochemistry) with a faculty letter, catalog description, or syllabus. COCA pre-accreditation; bachelor's degree before matriculation.

Sources for this page

AAMC report data may be reproduced and distributed with attribution for individual, educational and noncommercial purposes. This page is free and carries no advertising.