Shortlist
Menu

MD · Indianapolis, IN · public · applies through AMCAS

Indiana University School of Medicine

Known as Indiana (IU)

LCME: FullWebsiteAdmissions pageClass profile[email protected](317) 274-3772
512.4MCAT mean · 2025
3.84GPA mean
365Class size
87%In-state matriculants (AAMC 2025)
—Secondary fee
—Secondary deadline
$41,282Tuition + fees, in state
$68,823Tuition + fees, out of state

Prerequisite coursework

Verify with the school
AP credit: YesCommunity college: YesOnline courses: Varies by coursePass/fail: Yes
CourseStatusHoursLabPass/failAP creditOnlineCommunity collegeNotes from the school
Biochemistry
CHEM
Required3NoYesYesCase-by-case
Online coursework is accepted but preference is for students to complete science prerequisite courses in classroom settings and at four year accredited institutions.
Yes
Biology
BIOL
Required8YesYesYesCase-by-case
Online coursework is accepted but preference is for students to complete science prerequisite courses in classroom settings and at four year accredited institutions.
Yes
Chemistry
CHEM
Required8YesYesYesCase-by-case
Online coursework is accepted but preference is for students to complete science prerequisite courses in classroom settings and at four year accredited institutions.
Yes
Physical Chemistry
CHEM
Required8YesYesYesCase-by-case
Online coursework is accepted but preference is for students to complete science prerequisite courses in classroom settings and at four year accredited institutions.
YesOrganic chemistry
Physics
PHYS
Required8YesYesYesCase-by-case
Online coursework is accepted but preference is for students to complete science prerequisite courses in classroom settings and at four year accredited institutions.
Yes
Psychology
BESS
Required3NoYesYesYesYes
Sociology
BESS
Required3NoYesYesYesYes

Community-college pathways

Upward transfer: YesAccelerated: NoSupplemental: No

Acceptance of coursework will be considered for applicants who complete some course work toward a degree at a community college or junior college and then transfer to a four-year institution.

Source: (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13).

Source: MSAR Report for Applicants and Advisors: Premed Course Requirements 2027 (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13). Verify with the school.

Admission policies, in the school's words

IU School of Medicine is committed to supporting applicants and sustaining equitable application review procedures. The school’s review assessments determine the fitness of applicants’ backgrounds for medical school admission. Applicants have the following options during the 2026/27 Admissions Cycle: • Online coursework is accepted but preference is for students to complete science prerequisite courses in classroom settings and at 4-year accredited institutions. • P/NP (no pass) or S/F grades are accepted as meeting grade requirements. For those who wish to receive a letter grade rather than (S/F or P/NP) should appeal to the school’s instructors (at their discretion).

Source: MSAR Report for Applicants and Advisors: Admission Policies and Information 2027 (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13). Verify with the school.

Who can apply

Out-of-state applicants
Case-by-case Acceptance offers for out of state applicants represents 20% of the entering class.
Canadian applicants
Case-by-case Must have US permanent resident status.
International applicants
No
DACA applicants
No
Residency preference (school's page)
Indiana University is a state school, but a number of nonresidents are offered acceptances annually.

Source: (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13). Verify with the school.

Interview

Traditional / one-on-oneVirtual
Format
Traditional interview format. One-on-one open file interview session with two members of the Admissions Committee.
Invitations sent
August
Typical interview day
All 2026/27 MD applicant interviews will be conducted on online. Our interviews are held on Wednesdays, starting in late August through February. In addition to applicant interviews, there will be a financial aid presentation, a general informational session, and opportunities to meet current medical students. Applicants invited for an interview at Indiana University School of Medicine MD program will receive detailed interview information and instructions.
Regional interviews
Interviews will be conducted online.
Video interviews
Interviews will be conducted online.

Tags are derived from the text above by keyword; read the text before relying on a tag.

Source: MSAR Report for Applicants and Advisors: Interview Procedures 2027 (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13). Verify with the school.

Situational-judgment tests and MCAT dates

Casper
Required source · secondary lists: MSI —, IMA required
AAMC PREview
Not used "We are not using PREview scores in the admissions" source
Latest MCAT considered
September 30, 2026
Oldest MCAT considered
September 2023

Casper status comes from the school's own admissions page where it states one, otherwise from published requirement lists; PREview from the school's page or the AAMC PREview policies report. Both change between cycles. Verify with the school.

Source: (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13).

Secondary application

Required
Not stated
Fee
—
Fee waiver available
Not stated
Deadline

Source: (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13). Verify with the school.

Letters of evaluation

Committee letter
Accepted
Letter packet
Accepted
Individual letters
Accepted

Source: (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13). Verify with the school.

Waitlist and deposit

Typical waitlist positions
200
Offers made from the waitlist
0
Deposit required
No

Source: (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13).

Cost of attendance and debt

In stateOut of state
Tuition and fees$41,282$68,823
Health insurance$4,625$4,625
Total cost of attendance, year 1$70,227$97,768

96% of students receive aid. Average indebtedness of indebted graduates: $213,294.

Source: (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13).

Official AAMC counts, 2025-2026

Applications
7,822 (8.8% in-state)
Matriculants
366 (86.6% in-state, 13.4% out-of-state; 48.1% women)
Applications per seat
21

Source: AAMC FACTS Table A-1: Applications and Matriculants by School, State of Legal Residence, and Gender, 2025-2026 (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13).

Entering class 2025

Applicants
7,822
Matriculated
365
MCAT (mean)
512.4
GPA (mean)
3.84
In-state
88%
Women
48%

Source: the school's published class profile (page), retrieved 2026-10-13. Statistics describe one entering class and are not cutoffs.

Transfer applications

No Contact Name: Admissions Office Phone Number: 3172743772 Email Address: [email protected] Website: https://medicine.iu.edu

Source: (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13).

Mission statement

At IU School of Medicine, we are committed to creating an environment where every member of our academic community can excel. We are unified by our mission to improve the health of every Hoosier community we serve through excellence in education, research, and clinical care. Our work and decisions are guided by that mission, our values and the enduring principles of the Hippocratic Oath. By upholding these values, we foster a culture of mutual respect, collaboration, and academic rigor — ensuring that excellence remains at the heart of everything we do. The goal of the Indiana University School of Medicine is the education of physicians, scientists, and other health professionals in an intellectually rich environment with research as its scientific base. In education, we are committed to imparting a fundamental understanding of both clinical practice and the basic scientific knowledge upon which it rests, to provide a firm foundation for lifelong learning. In research, we are committed to the advancement of knowledge. In patient care, we are committed to the highest standards of medical practice in an atmosphere of respect and empathy for our patients. Education, research, and delivery of health care are inseparable components of our mission. Excellence can only be achieved when all components are of highest quality, well integrated, and mutually supportive.

Source: (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13).

Notes

MD Class of 2029 (entered 2025; facts page and class-selection page): 7,822 applications received, 365 students enrolled, male/female 190/175 (48% women, computed), in-state/out-of-state 321/44 (88% in-state, computed), average GPA 3.84, average MCAT 512.4. Largest MD class in the U.S. No minimum MCAT/GPA stated; only the most recent MCAT is considered; AMCAS GPA used. Secondary application fee $70; interviews September–March (format not stated). Early Decision limited to Indiana residents.

Sources for this page

AAMC report data may be reproduced and distributed with attribution for individual, educational and noncommercial purposes. This page is free and carries no advertising.