Shortlist
Menu

DO · Erie, PA · private · applies through AACOMAS

Lake Erie College of Osteopathic Medicine

Known as LECOM

COCA: AccreditationWebsiteAdmissions page
502.3MCAT mean
3.64GPA mean
470Class size
—In-state matriculants
$50Secondary fee
Apr 1, 2027Secondary deadline
$41,825Tuition + fees, in state
$41,825Tuition + fees, out of state

Prerequisite coursework

Verify with the school
AP credit: Case-by-caseCommunity college: Not statedOnline courses: Not statedPass/fail: Not statedBiochemistry may replace Organic II (stated)
CourseStatusHoursLabPass/failAP creditOnlineCommunity collegeNotes from the school
Biology
Required8YesNot statedCase-by-caseNot statedNot stated'A minimum of eight semester hours, including two semester hours of laboratory work'; general biology, zoology, or a mix of biology, zoology, and botany; C or better (C- or lower must be retaken)
Inorganic Chemistry
Required8YesNot statedCase-by-caseNot statedNot statedminimum of 8 semester hours, including 2 semester hours of lab
Organic Chemistry
Required8YesNot statedCase-by-caseNot statedNot statedOrganic 1: 4 credits with a 1-credit lab; Organic 2: 4 credits with a 1-credit lab, or 3 credits of Biochemistry may replace Organic 2
Physics
Required4YesNot statedCase-by-caseNot statedNot statedminimum of 4 semester hours, including 1 hour of lab
English
Required6Not statedNot statedCase-by-caseNot statedNot statedminimum of 6 semester hours of composition and literature
Behavioral Sciences
Required6Not statedNot statedCase-by-caseNot statedNot statedminimum of 6 semester hours in psychology, sociology, anthropology, medical ethics, or philosophy
Biochemistry, physiology, microbiology, anatomy
Recommended—Not statedNot statedCase-by-caseNot statedNot stated'LECOM recommends that prospective students consider taking advanced coursework'

Source: school-website. Verify with the school.

Interview

Traditional / one-on-one
Format
'Applicant interviews will be conducted throughout the application cycle'; rolling admissions.

Tags are derived from the text above by keyword; read the text before relying on a tag.

Source: school-website. Verify with the school.

Situational-judgment tests and MCAT dates

Casper
Not stated
AAMC PREview
Not stated

Casper status comes from the school's own admissions page where it states one, otherwise from published requirement lists; PREview from the school's page or the AAMC PREview policies report. Both change between cycles. Verify with the school.

Secondary application

Required
Yes
Fee
$50
Fee waiver available
Not stated
Deadline
Apr 1, 2027 April 1
Who receives it
'LECOM requires all applicants to submit a LECOM Supplemental Application'; $50 non-refundable. Applicants need at least a 2.7 overall GPA to receive a supplemental application.

Source: school-website. Verify with the school.

Cost of attendance and debt

In stateOut of state
Tuition and fees$41,825$41,825
Health insurance——
Total cost of attendance, year 1——

Tuition as listed on AACOM's Choose DO Explorer (self-reported by the college); fees and cost of attendance not included.

Source: AACOM Choose DO Explorer (listing with 75 campus cards) and per-college detail pages (aacom.org/detail-pages/com/...) (AACOM, retrieved 2026-10-13).

Entering class

Matriculated
470
MCAT (mean)
502.3
GPA (mean)
3.64

Source: the school's published class profile (page), retrieved 2026-10-13. Statistics describe one entering class and are not cutoffs.

Notes

Accreditation statement on college site: The College of Osteopathic Medicine, Doctor of Osteopathic Medicine is accredited by the Commission on Osteopathic College Accreditation (COCA) of the American Osteopathic Association (AOA). | AACOM profile accreditation text: The College of Osteopathic Medicine is accredited by the Commission on Osteopathic College Accreditation (COCA) of the American Osteopathic Association. We are proud to report that we have been granted another 10-year full accreditation. This is the highest honor COCA can impart on an institution. | Campuses per COCA directory: Lake Erie College of Osteopathic Medicine (Erie, PA; main; first class 1993); Lake Erie College of Osteopathic Medicine-Bradenton (Bradenton, FL; branch campus; first class 2004); Lake Erie College of Osteopathic Medicine at Seton Hill (Greensburg, PA; additional location; first class 2009); Lake Erie College of Osteopathic Medicine at Elmira (Elmira, NY; additional location; first class 2020); Lake Erie College of Osteopathic Medicine at Jacksonville (Jacksonville, FL; additional location; first class 2026) 2.7 or higher overall GPA (all undergraduate and graduate coursework) to receive a supplemental application. Early Acceptance Program available.

Sources for this page

AAMC report data may be reproduced and distributed with attribution for individual, educational and noncommercial purposes. This page is free and carries no advertising.