Shortlist
Menu

DO · East Lansing, MI · public · applies through AACOMAS

Michigan State University College of Osteopathic Medicine

Known as MSUCOM

COCA: AccreditationWebsiteAdmissions page
506.7MCAT mean
3.75GPA mean
300Class size
71%In-state matriculants
$100Secondary fee
Feb 1, 2027Secondary deadline
$43,776Tuition + fees, in state
$61,838Tuition + fees, out of state

Prerequisite coursework

Verify with the school
AP credit: Case-by-caseCommunity college: Not statedOnline courses: Not statedPass/fail: Not stated
CourseStatusHoursPass/failAP creditOnlineCommunity collegeNotes from the school
Biology
Required8Not statedCase-by-caseNot statedNot stated8 semester credit hours; 'Any combination of lecture and/or laboratory biology courses at any academic level may be used'; no grade below a C or 2.0
Chemistry (including biochemistry)
Required16Not statedCase-by-caseNot statedNot stated16 semester credit hours, including a minimum of 3 semester credit hours of biochemistry; 'Any combination of lecture and/or laboratory chemistry and biochemistry courses at any academic level may be used'
Biochemistry
Required3Not statedCase-by-caseNot statedNot statedminimum of 3 semester credit hours within the 16-hour chemistry requirement; AP/IB credit may not be used for biochemistry
English
Required6Not statedCase-by-caseNot statedNot stated6 semester credit hours; AP/IB credit on an undergraduate transcript may apply
Junior or senior level biological sciences (anatomy, physiology, genetics)
Recommended—Not statedCase-by-caseNot statedNot stated'We strongly encourage applicants to complete additional courses in junior or senior level biological sciences.'

Source: school-website. Verify with the school.

Who can apply

Out-of-state applicants
Not stated 'Individuals who are not United States citizens or permanent residents of the United States are evaluated as international applicants'; they use the same application and requirements plus verification of academic credentials, financial resources (F-1 visa), and English proficiency. Course-by-course evaluation (e.g., WES) for coursework outside the U.S. or Canada.
International applicants
Yes
DACA applicants
Not stated

Source: not recorded. Verify with the school.

Interview

Traditional / one-on-oneVirtual
Format
traditional virtual 'a one-on-one interview with a college representative lasting about 30 minutes ... conducted via video conference'; interviews are closed file. Page states the interview 'will remain online only for the 2024-2025 application cycle'.

Tags are derived from the text above by keyword; read the text before relying on a tag.

Source: school-website. Verify with the school.

Situational-judgment tests and MCAT dates

Casper
Not stated
AAMC PREview
Not stated

Casper status comes from the school's own admissions page where it states one, otherwise from published requirement lists; PREview from the school's page or the AAMC PREview policies report. Both change between cycles. Verify with the school.

Secondary application

Required
Yes
Fee
$100
Fee waiver available
Not stated
Deadline
Feb 1, 2027 February 1 (AACOMAS primary deadline December 1)
Who receives it
'Complete both the primary and secondary application.' 'The secondary application fee is $100'; waived for applicants granted an AACOMAS fee waiver. Rolling admission; September is the last MCAT test date for the cycle.

Source: school-website. Verify with the school.

Cost of attendance and debt

In stateOut of state
Tuition and fees$43,776$61,838
Health insurance——
Total cost of attendance, year 1——

Tuition as listed on AACOM's Choose DO Explorer (self-reported by the college); fees and cost of attendance not included.

Source: AACOM Choose DO Explorer (listing with 75 campus cards) and per-college detail pages (aacom.org/detail-pages/com/...) (AACOM, retrieved 2026-10-13).

Entering class

Applicants
9,587
Matriculated
300
MCAT (mean)
506.7
GPA (mean)
3.75
In-state
71%

Source: the school's published class profile (page), retrieved 2026-10-13. Statistics describe one entering class and are not cutoffs.

Notes

Accreditation statement on college site: Michigan State University College of Osteopathic Medicine is accredited by the Commission on Osteopathic College Accreditation, or COCA, to offer an academic program leading to the Doctor of Osteopathic Medicine (D.O.) degree. | AACOM profile accreditation text: The Michigan State University College of Osteopathic Medicine is accredited by the Commission on Osteopathic College Accreditation (COCA) and by the Higher Learning Commission of the North Central Association of Colleges and Schools. | Campuses per COCA directory: Michigan State University College of Osteopathic Medicine (East Lansing, MI; main; first class 1971); Michigan State University College of Osteopathic Medicine at Detroit Medical Center (Detroit, MI; additional location; first class 2009); Michigan State University College of Osteopathic Medicine at Macomb University Center (Clinton Township, MI; additional location; first class 2009) Baccalaureate from a regionally accredited institution, or exemplary performance in a minimum of 90 semester credit hours. Average entering GPA 3.5-3.7 and MCAT 506-508. Three preclerkship sites: East Lansing, Detroit, Clinton Township. Both com.msu.edu and osteopathicmedicine.msu.edu sit behind an Imperva/Incapsula bot challenge that blocks automated fetches; pages were read with a real browser session.

Sources for this page

AAMC report data may be reproduced and distributed with attribution for individual, educational and noncommercial purposes. This page is free and carries no advertising.