Shortlist
Menu

DO · Old Westbury, NY · private · applies through AACOMAS

New York Institute of Technology College of Osteopathic Medicine

Known as NYITCOM

COCA: AccreditationWebsiteAdmissions page
504.6MCAT mean
3.69GPA mean
417Class size
—In-state matriculants
$80Secondary fee
Mar 16, 2027Secondary deadline
$70,720Tuition + fees, in state
$70,720Tuition + fees, out of state

Prerequisite coursework

Verify with the school
Biochemistry may replace Organic II (stated)The school's page does not state AP, community-college, online or pass/fail policies for these courses.
CourseStatusHoursLabNotes from the school
English
Required6Not stated
Biology (general biology or zoology)
Required8YesLecture and lab; must include a basic general biology or zoology course
General Chemistry
Required8YesLecture and lab
Organic Chemistry I
Required4YesLecture and lab
Organic Chemistry II
Required4YesLecture and lab; biochemistry, with or without lab, may be substituted
Physics
Required8YesLecture and lab
Behavioral sciences (psychology, sociology, anthropology)
Recommended—Not statedAdditional coursework 'encouraged'
Biochemistry
Recommended—Not statedAdditional coursework 'encouraged'
Calculus/Statistics
Recommended—Not statedAdditional coursework 'encouraged'
Human anatomy/physiology
Recommended—Not statedAdditional coursework 'encouraged'
Genetics
Recommended—Not statedAdditional coursework 'encouraged'
Microbiology
Recommended—Not statedAdditional coursework 'encouraged'

Source: school-website. Verify with the school.

Who can apply

Out-of-state applicants
Not stated Must be a U.S. citizen or U.S. permanent resident; must hold a baccalaureate from an accredited U.S. college or university (exception: formal combined-degree articulation agreements). 'NYITCOM will consider candidates with credentials from institutions outside the U.S.' (see AACOMAS instructions).
International applicants
No
DACA applicants
Not stated

Source: not recorded. Verify with the school.

Interview

Traditional / one-on-one
Format
Interviews are granted only by invitation of the Admissions Committee; begin in late summer and continue through early spring; rolling. Format and modality not stated.

Tags are derived from the text above by keyword; read the text before relying on a tag.

Source: school-website. Verify with the school.

Situational-judgment tests and MCAT dates

Casper
Not stated
AAMC PREview
Not stated

Casper status comes from the school's own admissions page where it states one, otherwise from published requirement lists; PREview from the school's page or the AAMC PREview policies report. Both change between cycles. Verify with the school.

Secondary application

Required
Yes
Fee
$80
Fee waiver available
Not stated
Deadline
Mar 16, 2027 2027-03-16
Who receives it
Supplemental application required; $80 non-refundable fee or verified AACOMAS fee waiver code; available until March 16, 2027; no updates accepted after submission.

Source: school-website. Verify with the school.

Cost of attendance and debt

In stateOut of state
Tuition and fees$70,720$70,720
Health insurance——
Total cost of attendance, year 1——

Tuition as listed on AACOM's Choose DO Explorer (self-reported by the college); fees and cost of attendance not included.

Source: AACOM Choose DO Explorer (listing with 75 campus cards) and per-college detail pages (aacom.org/detail-pages/com/...) (AACOM, retrieved 2026-10-13).

Entering class

Matriculated
417
MCAT (mean)
504.6
GPA (mean)
3.69

Source: the school's published class profile (page), retrieved 2026-10-13. Statistics describe one entering class and are not cutoffs.

Notes

AACOMAS file lists the designation 'NYITCOM Long Island' only; NYITCOM's emigre-program applicants are excluded from the file per AACOM's note. | Accreditation statement on college site: NYIT College of Osteopathic Medicine established in 1977 is accredited by the New York State Board of Regents, Middle States Commission on Higher Education, and the American Osteopathic Association Commission on Osteopathic College Accreditation (COCA), which is the national accrediting agency for colleges educating osteopathic student physicians. | AACOM profile accreditation text: New York Institute of Technology College of Osteopathic Medicine (NYITCOM) is accredited by the Commission on Osteopathic College Accreditation (COCA). New York Institute of Technology is accredited by the Middle States Commission on Higher Education. | Campuses per COCA directory: New York Institute of Technology College of Osteopathic Medicine (Old Westbury, NY; main; first class 1977); New York Institute of Technology College of Osteopathic Medicine at Arkansas State (Jonesboro, AR; additional location; first class 2016) Campuses: Long Island, NY and Jonesboro, AR (NYITCOM at Arkansas State); the committee may recommend the best campus fit. AACOMAS deadline March 1, 2027; supplemental deadline March 16, 2027. Applicants must accept the NYITCOM Technical Standards. No Arkansas-specific requirements stated.

Sources for this page

AAMC report data may be reproduced and distributed with attribution for individual, educational and noncommercial purposes. This page is free and carries no advertising.