DO · Philadelphia, PA · private · applies through AACOMAS
Philadelphia College of Osteopathic Medicine
Known as PCOM
Prerequisite coursework
Verify with the school- AP/IB credits accepted 'provided the course and credits appear on your college transcript'; CLEP not accepted
| Course | Status | Hours | Lab | Pass/fail | AP credit | Online | Community college | Notes from the school |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Biology | Required | 8 | Yes | Not stated | Yes | Not stated | Not stated | 8 semester hours including 2 hours of lab |
| Physics | Required | 8 | Yes | Not stated | Yes | Not stated | Not stated | 8 semester hours including 2 hours of lab |
| Chemistry | Required | 16 | Yes | Not stated | Yes | Not stated | Not stated | 16 semester hours including 4 hours of lab; 'at least 4 hours must be organic chemistry (with lab); at least 3 hours must be biochemistry' |
| Organic Chemistry | Required | 4 | Yes | Not stated | Yes | Not stated | Not stated | Included within the 16 chemistry hours; with lab |
| Biochemistry | Required | 3 | Not stated | Not stated | Yes | Not stated | Not stated | Included within the 16 chemistry hours |
| English composition and/or literature | Required | 6 | Not stated | Not stated | Yes | Not stated | Not stated |
Source: school-website. Verify with the school.
Who can apply
- Out-of-state applicants
- Not stated U.S. citizens or permanent residents (green card holders) are eligible; permanent residency 'pending' is not eligible. Prerequisites must be completed at a U.S. regionally accredited college; 'International coursework will not count towards meeting any prerequisite coursework.' Foreign degrees need a WES course-by-course evaluation; TOEFL iBT 79 (speaking 26) if native language is not English.
- International applicants
- No
- DACA applicants
- Not stated
Source: not recorded. Verify with the school.
Interview
- Format
- hybrid 'PCOM offers a choice of virtual or on-campus interviews'; rolling, summer through spring; format not stated.
Tags are derived from the text above by keyword; read the text before relying on a tag.
Source: school-website. Verify with the school.
Situational-judgment tests and MCAT dates
- Casper
- Not stated
- AAMC PREview
- Not stated
Casper status comes from the school's own admissions page where it states one, otherwise from published requirement lists; PREview from the school's page or the AAMC PREview policies report. Both change between cycles. Verify with the school.
Secondary application
- Required
- No
- Fee
- $75
- Fee waiver available
- Not stated
- Deadline
- Mar 1, 2027 2027-03-01
- Who receives it
- No supplemental application for 2027 admission; candidates answer questions in the AACOMAS Program Materials section. A non-refundable PCOM institutional application fee of $75 per location applies; fees and all materials due March 1, 2027.
Source: school-website. Verify with the school.
Cost of attendance and debt
| In state | Out of state | |
|---|---|---|
| Tuition and fees | $66,015 | $66,015 |
| Health insurance | — | — |
| Total cost of attendance, year 1 | — | — |
Tuition as listed on AACOM's Choose DO Explorer (self-reported by the college); fees and cost of attendance not included.
Source: AACOM Choose DO Explorer (listing with 75 campus cards) and per-college detail pages (aacom.org/detail-pages/com/...) (AACOM, retrieved 2026-10-13).
Entering class 2026
- Applicants
- 9,069
- Accepted
- 506
- Matriculated
- 269
- MCAT (mean)
- 504
Source: the school's published class profile (page), retrieved 2026-10-13. Statistics describe one entering class and are not cutoffs.
Notes
Accreditation statement on college site: The Doctor of Osteopathic Medicine (DO) programs at PCOM's main Philadelphia campus, a branch campus in Suwanee, Georgia and an additional location in Moultrie, Georgia are accredited by the Commission on Osteopathic College Accreditation (COCA) of the American Osteopathic Association (AOA). | AACOM profile accreditation text: PCOM is accredited by the Middle States Commission on Higher Education | Campuses per COCA directory: Philadelphia College of Osteopathic Medicine (Philadelphia, PA; main; first class 1898); Georgia Campus-Philadelphia College of Osteopathic Medicine (Suwanee, GA; branch campus; first class 2005); Philadelphia College of Osteopathic Medicine-Moultrie (Moultrie, GA; additional location; first class 2019) Philadelphia campus. One AACOMAS application can cover PCOM (Philadelphia) and PCOM South Georgia (select on the Questions tab); PCOM Georgia requires a separate AACOMAS application. Each location has its own $75 institutional fee and its own Faculty Committee on Admissions. 'PCOM does not have minimum MCAT requirements for the DO program'; competitive applicants are generally at or above 500 with 125+ in each section. No minimum GPA (2024 entering class median undergraduate science GPA 3.5). AACOMAS e-submission by February 1, 2027; verified by February 28; fees and materials by March 1, 2027; rolling review. Bachelor's degree from a regionally accredited college required before matriculation (three years of exceptional work may be considered). Criminal background check before matriculation. Suwanee, GA campus. 'PCOM Georgia requires a separate AACOMAS application and a separate $75 institutional fee.' Requirements and processes are the same across PCOM locations, but each location's Faculty Committee on Admissions evaluates applications separately. Contact [email protected]. 'PCOM does not have minimum MCAT requirements for the DO program'; competitive applicants are generally at or above 500 with 125+ in each section. No minimum GPA (2024 entering class median undergraduate science GPA 3.5). AACOMAS e-submission by February 1, 2027; verified by February 28; fees and materials by March 1, 2027; rolling review. Bachelor's degree from a regionally accredited college required before matriculation (three years of exceptional work may be considered). Criminal background check before matriculation. Moultrie, GA campus. One AACOMAS application can cover PCOM (Philadelphia) and PCOM South Georgia (select PCOM, PCOM South Georgia, or both on the Questions tab); each location has its own $75 institutional fee and its own Faculty Committee on Admissions. Contact [email protected]. 'PCOM does not have minimum MCAT requirements for the DO program'; competitive applicants are generally at or above 500 with 125+ in each section. No minimum GPA (2024 entering class median undergraduate science GPA 3.5). AACOMAS e-submission by February 1, 2027; verified by February 28; fees and materials by March 1, 2027; rolling review. Bachelor's degree from a regionally accredited college required before matriculation (three years of exceptional work may be considered). Criminal background check before matriculation.
Sources for this page
- aacom
- AACOM Choose DO Explorer (listing with 75 campus cards) and per-college detail pages (aacom.org/detail-pages/com/...) · AACOM, retrieved 2026-10-13
- School website (class profile and admissions pages)
- https://osteopathic.org/wp-content/uploads/2018/03/colleges-of-osteopathic-medicine.pdf · school website, retrieved 2026-10-13
- https://www.aacom.org/become-a-doctor/u-s-colleges-of-osteopathic-medicine · school website, retrieved 2026-10-13
- https://www.aacom.org/detail-pages/com/pcom-georgia · school website, retrieved 2026-10-13
- https://www.aacom.org/detail-pages/com/pcom-south-georgia · school website, retrieved 2026-10-13
- https://www.aacom.org/detail-pages/com/philadelphia-college-of-osteopathic-medicine · school website, retrieved 2026-10-13
- https://www.aacom.org/docs/default-source/become-doctor/us-com-directory.pdf · school website, retrieved 2026-10-13
- https://www.aacom.org/docs/default-source/research-reports/applicants-matriculants-by-com-2009-2025.xlsx?sfvrsn=a3634af4_13 · school website, retrieved 2026-10-13
- https://www.aacom.org/explore-med-schools/choose-do-explorer · school website, retrieved 2026-10-13
- https://www.pcom.edu/academics/programs-and-degrees/doctor-of-osteopathic-medicine-georgia-campus/ · school website, retrieved 2026-10-13
- https://www.pcom.edu/academics/programs-and-degrees/doctor-of-osteopathic-medicine-georgia-campus/program-data.html · school website, retrieved 2026-10-13
- https://www.pcom.edu/academics/programs-and-degrees/doctor-of-osteopathic-medicine-philadelphia-campus/ · school website, retrieved 2026-10-13
- https://www.pcom.edu/academics/programs-and-degrees/doctor-of-osteopathic-medicine-philadelphia-campus/program-data.html · school website, retrieved 2026-10-13
- https://www.pcom.edu/academics/programs-and-degrees/doctor-of-osteopathic-medicine-south-georgia/ · school website, retrieved 2026-10-13
- https://www.pcom.edu/academics/programs-and-degrees/doctor-of-osteopathic-medicine-south-georgia/program-data.html · school website, retrieved 2026-10-13
- https://www.pcom.edu/admissions/ · school website, retrieved 2026-10-13
- https://www.pcom.edu/admissions/faq/ · school website, retrieved 2026-10-13
- https://www.pcom.edu/campuses/philadelphia-campus/history.html · school website, retrieved 2026-10-13
- https://www.pcom.edu/do/ · school website, retrieved 2026-10-13
- https://www.pcom.edu/do/apply.html · school website, retrieved 2026-10-13
AAMC report data may be reproduced and distributed with attribution for individual, educational and noncommercial purposes. This page is free and carries no advertising.