Shortlist
Menu

MD · Philadelphia, PA · private · applies through AMCAS

Sidney Kimmel Medical College at Thomas Jefferson University

Known as Jefferson (SKMC)

LCME: FullWebsiteAdmissions pageClass profile[email protected](215) 955-6983
514MCAT mean · 2026
—GPA
—Class size
30%In-state matriculants (AAMC 2025)
$80Secondary fee
Jan 1, 2027Secondary deadline
$70,292Tuition + fees, in state
$70,292Tuition + fees, out of state

Prerequisite coursework

Verify with the school
AP credit: YesCommunity college: YesOnline courses: YesPass/fail: Case-by-case
CourseStatusHoursLabPass/failAP creditOnlineCommunity collegeNotes from the school
Biochemistry
CHEM
Recommended—NoCase-by-case
If given a choice, a letter grade is preferred over pass/fail options.
YesYesYes
Biology
BIOL
Recommended—YesCase-by-case
If given a choice, a letter grade is preferred over pass/fail options.
YesYesYes
Chemistry
CHEM
Recommended—YesCase-by-case
If given a choice, a letter grade is preferred over pass/fail options.
YesYesYes
Physical Chemistry
CHEM
Recommended—YesCase-by-case
If given a choice, a letter grade is preferred over pass/fail options.
YesYesYes
Physics
PHYS
Recommended—YesCase-by-case
If given a choice, a letter grade is preferred over pass/fail options.
YesYesYes
Statistics
MATH
Recommended—NoCase-by-case
If given a choice, a letter grade is preferred over pass/fail options.
YesYesYes

Community-college pathways

Upward transfer: YesAccelerated: YesSupplemental: Yes

Coursework completed at a community college is accepted.

Source: (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13).

Source: MSAR Report for Applicants and Advisors: Premed Course Requirements 2027 (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13). Verify with the school.

Admission policies, in the school's words

1. All applications for admission to SKMC shall be received and processed by the Admissions Office in preparation for action by the Committee on Admissions. A mission-aligned, holistic review of all qualified applicants will be undertaken by the Committee on Admissions. 2. The Committee on Admissions shall be responsible for the selection of all students and shall have the authority to act in all matters pertaining to admissions in accordance with general policies adopted by the faculty of the college. 3. No applicant shall be admitted to SKMC without a personal interview by a member of the Committee on Admissions.

Source: MSAR Report for Applicants and Advisors: Admission Policies and Information 2027 (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13). Verify with the school.

Who can apply

Out-of-state applicants
Yes None
Canadian applicants
Yes none
International applicants
Yes Must have earned a baccalaureate degree from a US or Canadian university
DACA applicants
Case-by-case Must have earned a baccalaureate degree from a US or Canadian university
DACA details
Must have earned a baccalaureate degree from a US or Canadian university
Residency preference (school's page)
'No preference is given to in-state applicants.'

Source: (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13). Verify with the school.

Interview

Traditional / one-on-oneIn person
Format
One-on-one interview with a faculty member (open file) and one-on-one interview with a student (closed file). Interviews are held in-person.
Invitations sent
mid-July
Typical interview day
10AM-4PM, Wednesdays only
Regional interviews
no
Video interviews
No
School's admissions page says
All interviews for the 2027 admissions cycle will be conducted in person at SKMC in Philadelphia.

Tags are derived from the text above by keyword; read the text before relying on a tag.

Source: MSAR Report for Applicants and Advisors: Interview Procedures 2027 (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13). Verify with the school.

Situational-judgment tests and MCAT dates

Casper
Not on official list source
AAMC PREview
Not used "We are not using PREview scores in the admissions process" source
Latest MCAT considered
September 12, 2026
Oldest MCAT considered
January 2022

Casper status comes from the school's own admissions page where it states one, otherwise from published requirement lists; PREview from the school's page or the AAMC PREview policies report. Both change between cycles. Verify with the school.

Source: (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13).

Secondary application

Required
Yes
Fee
$80
Fee waiver available
Yes
Deadline
Jan 1, 2027 1/1/2027
Who receives it
All applicants

Source: (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13). Verify with the school.

Letters of evaluation

Committee letter
Preferred
Letter packet
Accepted
Individual letters
Accepted

Source: (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13). Verify with the school.

Waitlist and deposit

Typical waitlist positions
200
Offers made from the waitlist
40
Procedure
Applicants are offered acceptance from the waitlist as spots become available during our rolling admissions process
Deposit required
Yes in state $100 · out of state $100
Deposit due
April 30, 2026
Refundable / applied to tuition
Yes Yes

Source: (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13).

Cost of attendance and debt

In stateOut of state
Tuition and fees$70,292$70,292
Health insurance$6,076$6,076
Total cost of attendance, year 1$102,480$102,480

75% of students receive aid. Average indebtedness of indebted graduates: $201,670.

Source: (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13).

Official AAMC counts, 2025-2026

Applications
12,033 (9.5% in-state)
Matriculants
286 (30.4% in-state, 69.6% out-of-state; 54.2% women)
Applications per seat
42

Source: AAMC FACTS Table A-1: Applications and Matriculants by School, State of Legal Residence, and Gender, 2025-2026 (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13).

Entering class 2026

Applicants
13,758
MCAT (mean)
514
Women
54%

Source: the school's published class profile (page), retrieved 2026-10-13. Statistics describe one entering class and are not cutoffs.

Transfer applications

No Contact Name: Clara Callahan, MD Phone Number: 2150556983 Email Address: [email protected] Website:

Source: (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13).

Mission statement

Sidney Kimmel Medical College at Thomas Jefferson University is committed to: educating physicians who will form and lead the integrated healthcare delivery and research teams of tomorrow; discovering new knowledge that will define the future of clinical care through investigation from the laboratory to the bedside, and into the community; and setting the standard for quality, compassionate and efficient patient care for our community and for the nation. We recognize that a diverse community is imperative to achieving excellence in patient care, education, and research. As we carry out our mission, we are committed to the highest standards of professionalism and aspire to be a community of discovery, learning, and inclusion.

Source: (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13).

Notes

FAQ profile of the 2026 entering class: 13,758 total AMCAS applications, 'Overall BCPM GPA 3.80', average total MCAT 514, average age 24, 54% women, students from 125 undergraduate schools, 27 states and eight other countries (class size, interviewed and accepted counts not stated). MCAT no older than three years; bachelor's degree from a U.S. or Canadian institution required; supplemental application fee amount not stated. The 2026-cycle admissions prospectus PDF could not be retrieved (served as HTML / 404). Campuses: Center City Philadelphia plus Lehigh Valley and Delaware campuses.

Sources for this page

AAMC report data may be reproduced and distributed with attribution for individual, educational and noncommercial purposes. This page is free and carries no advertising.