Shortlist
Menu

MD · Lubbock, TX · public · applies through TMDSAS

Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center School of Medicine

Known as Texas Tech (TTUHSC)

LCME: FullWebsiteAdmissions page[email protected](806) 743-2297
—MCAT
—GPA
—Class size
96%In-state matriculants (AAMC 2025)
$75Secondary fee
Nov 15, 2026Secondary deadline
$23,744Tuition + fees, in state
$36,844Tuition + fees, out of state

Prerequisite coursework

Verify with the school
AP credit: YesCommunity college: YesOnline courses: YesPass/fail: No
CourseStatusHoursLabPass/failAP creditOnlineCommunity collegeNotes from the school
Biochemistry
CHEM
Required3NoNoYesYesYesBiochemistry (3000 or 4000 level) is REQUIRED by TTUHSC School of Medicine and may be used toward fulfilling 3 hours of the Biological Sciences or 3 hours of the General Chemistry requirement.
Biology
BIOL
Required12YesNoYesYesYesGeneral Biology (I and II) or Zoology (6 hours) Upper Division Biology (6 hours)
Cell Biology
BIOL
Recommended3NoNoYesYesYes
Chemistry
CHEM
Required12YesNoYesYesYesGeneral Chemistry (I and II) Organic Chemistry (I and II)
Composition & Rhetoric
ENGL
Required6NoNoYesYesYesEnglish literature and writing intensive courses are also acceptable but may need to be approved on a case by case basis.
Genetics
BIOL
Recommended—NoNoYesYesYes
Immunology
BIOL
Recommended3NoNoYesYesYes
Microbiology
BIOL
Recommended3YesNoYesYesYesMicrobiology with lab
Molecular Biology
BIOL
Recommended3NoNoYesYesYes
Physics
PHYS
Required6YesNoYesYesYesPhysics (I and II)
Statistics
MATH
Required3NoNoYesYesYesCourse topics must include regression and analysis of variance.

Community-college pathways

Upward transfer: YesAccelerated: YesSupplemental: Yes

Community/junior college coursework is acceptable. The committee prefers to see high performance and upward trends. There are many reasons why an applicant would take coursework at a community/junior college and it is recommended that the applicant take time to expound on this in the secondary application.

Source: (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13).

Source: MSAR Report for Applicants and Advisors: Premed Course Requirements 2027 (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13). Verify with the school.

Admission policies, in the school's words

For more information regarding application deadlines, Pass/Fail courses, On-line prerequisites and MCAT changes please visit: https://www.tmdsas.com/policies.html#Gen-Guide Per our State legislative policy, we are mandated to only accept 10% non-residents in our entering class. U.S. citizens or permanent residents are also considered.

Source: MSAR Report for Applicants and Advisors: Admission Policies and Information 2027 (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13). Verify with the school.

Who can apply

Out-of-state applicants
Yes Due to our State Legislative policies, we can only accept up to 10% out of state students.
Canadian applicants
Case-by-case We only accept applications from SACS accredited colleges or universities. U.S. Citizenship or Permanent U.S. residency is required at the time of application.
International applicants
No We accept only U.S. citizens and permanent residents to our medical school.
DACA applicants
No At this time, we do not accept DACA students to our medical school.
DACA details
At this time, we do not accept DACA students to our medical school.
Residency preference (school's page)
Only applicants who are permanent U.S. residents or American citizens are considered for interview and admission; no Texas-resident percentage or preference is stated on the pages reviewed.

Source: (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13). Verify with the school.

Interview

Traditional / one-on-oneVirtualIn personRegional interviews
Format
Two one-on-one twenty minute interviews with School of Medicine faculty, and/or 3rd or 4th year medical students. Faculty from some partnering dual/joint degree programs also interview for applicants applying to those programs.
Invitations sent
mid-July
Typical interview day
Currently, all interviews and interview days are held virtually. TTUHSC School of Medicine does provide opportunities for applicants who have been invited to interview to come visit the campus on select Preview Days throughout the interview cycle. During the virtual interview day, applicants can expect to meet current students, watch videos and presentations about the school and program. After the interview day we invite applicants to come visit our campus in person through our exclusive Preview Day events.
Regional interviews
Yes.
Video interviews
All interviews are held virtually.
School's admissions page says
MD applicants are given two 20-minute interviews (virtual vs in person and MMI vs traditional not stated).

Tags are derived from the text above by keyword; read the text before relying on a tag.

Source: MSAR Report for Applicants and Advisors: Interview Procedures 2027 (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13). Verify with the school.

Situational-judgment tests and MCAT dates

Casper
Required source · secondary lists: MSI required, IMA —
AAMC PREview
Not stated source
Latest MCAT considered
September 30, 2026
Oldest MCAT considered
August 2022

Casper status comes from the school's own admissions page where it states one, otherwise from published requirement lists; PREview from the school's page or the AAMC PREview policies report. Both change between cycles. Verify with the school.

Source: (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13).

Secondary application

Required
Yes
Fee
$75
Fee waiver available
Yes
Deadline
Nov 15, 2026 11/15/2026
Who receives it
All eligible applicants applying to TTUHSC School of Medicine

Source: (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13). Verify with the school.

Letters of evaluation

Committee letter
Accepted
Letter packet
Accepted
Individual letters
Accepted

Source: (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13). Verify with the school.

Waitlist and deposit

Typical waitlist positions
Approximately 50-160 applicants will be placed on the wait list
Offers made from the waitlist
20
Procedure
Applicants who've interviewed and have been deemed acceptable by the Admissions Committee are placed on the waitlist post Match. Waitlist status is communicated to applicants by email.
Deposit required
Yes in state $100 · out of state $100
Deposit due
February 13, 2026
Refundable / applied to tuition
Yes No

Source: (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13).

Cost of attendance and debt

In stateOut of state
Tuition and fees$23,744$36,844
Health insurance$3,180$3,180
Total cost of attendance, year 1$56,378$69,478

84% of students receive aid. Average indebtedness of indebted graduates: $156,973.

Source: (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13).

Official AAMC counts, 2025-2026

Applications
5,348 (81.8% in-state)
Matriculants
182 (95.6% in-state, 4.4% out-of-state; 49.5% women)
Applications per seat
29

Source: AAMC FACTS Table A-1: Applications and Matriculants by School, State of Legal Residence, and Gender, 2025-2026 (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13).

Transfer applications

No Contact Name: Louis Perez Phone Number: 8067432297 Email Address: [email protected] Website: https://www.ttuhsc.edu/medicine/admissions/advanced-standingadmission.aspx

Source: (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13).

Mission statement

To enhance the overall health and outcomes for communities in which we serve, we seek to recruit students, faculty and senior administrative staff and admit individuals who have ties to West Texas or who come from or have an interest in serving rural areas, including those who may come from socioeconomically disadvantaged or first generation backgrounds. The core foundational value of including the different cultures, lifestyles, personal beliefs and ideas of all those we serve ─ and serve alongside ─ provides a positive impact on the health of our regional, national and global societies. We achieve this by producing physicians with core values who are competent and capable of making positive impacts on the health of an ever changing demographic and the communities in which they serve. As we pursue excellence in health care education, research and patient care, we will be ever mindful of the unity that is gained through our collective strengths.

Source: (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13).

Notes

No class profile or GPA/MCAT statistics published on the admissions pages reviewed. MCAT required; no numeric minimum stated; each prerequisite must be completed with a C or better; applies through TMDSAS with a secondary application (the secondary page URL guessed returned 404, so the fee is unknown).

Sources for this page

AAMC report data may be reproduced and distributed with attribution for individual, educational and noncommercial purposes. This page is free and carries no advertising.