MD · Tyler, TX · public · applies through TMDSAS
The University of Texas at Tyler School of Medicine
Known as UT Tyler
Prerequisite coursework
Verify with the school| Course | Status | Hours | Lab | Pass/fail | AP credit | Online | Community college | Notes from the school |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Biochemistry CHEM | Required | — | Yes | Case-by-case Official transcript, syllabus, etc. | Yes | Yes | Yes | 3 semester hours |
| Biology BIOL | Required | — | Yes | Case-by-case Official transcript, course syllabus, etc. | Yes | Yes | Yes | 11 semester hours, two of which must be labs |
| Chemistry CHEM | Required | — | Yes | Case-by-case Official transcript, syllabus, etc. | Yes | Yes | Yes | 12 semester hours, including one of the following combinations: - 2 semesters of organic chemistry and 1 semester of general inorganic chemistry (for a total of 9 semester hours with 3 labs); - 2 semesters of inorganic general chemistry and 1 semester of organic chemistry (for a total of 9 semester hours with 3 labs) |
| Composition & Rhetoric ENGL | Required | — | No | Case-by-case Official transcript, syllabus, etc. | Yes | Yes | Yes | 3 semester hours of composition-based coursework |
| Physics PHYS | Required | — | Yes | Case-by-case Official transcript, syllabus, etc. | Yes | Yes | Yes | 8 semester hours, two of which must be labs |
| Statistics MATH | Required | — | No | Case-by-case Official transcript, syllabus, etc. | Yes | Yes | Yes | 3 semester hours of statistics |
Community-college pathways
Currently there are no restrictions on the acceptance of coursework completed at a community college.
Source: MSAR Report for Applicants and Advisors: Premed Course Requirements 2027 (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13). Verify with the school.
Admission policies, in the school's words
Visit medicine.uttyler.edu for up-to-date admissions information.
Source: MSAR Report for Applicants and Advisors: Admission Policies and Information 2027 (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13). Verify with the school.
Who can apply
- Out-of-state applicants
- Case-by-case Texas state law requires that no more than 10% of the entering classes of dental, medical, podiatric, and veterinary schools can be made up on non-Texas residents.
- Canadian applicants
- Case-by-case Must be a permanent U.S. resident.
- International applicants
- No
- DACA applicants
- Case-by-case Must be a permanent U.S. resident.
- DACA details
- Must be a permanent U.S. resident.
- Residency preference (school's page)
- The school seeks students invested in improving the health of East Texas and asks applicants to indicate their connection to the East Texas region; the EY2025 class had 37 Texas residents and 3 non-Texas residents.
Source: (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13). Verify with the school.
Interview
- Format
- All interviews will be conducted face-to-face on the campus of UT Tyler SOM.
- Invitations sent
- June 2026
- Typical interview day
- Interviews will be conducted in person. Interview day will involve two distinct interview types: multiple mini interviews and a group exercise.
- Regional interviews
- All interviews are hosted on the campus of UT Tyler SOM.
- Video interviews
- No.
- School's admissions page says
- In-person interview days (by invitation) that include Multiple Mini-Interviews (MMIs)
Tags are derived from the text above by keyword; read the text before relying on a tag.
Source: MSAR Report for Applicants and Advisors: Interview Procedures 2027 (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13). Verify with the school.
Situational-judgment tests and MCAT dates
- Casper
- Required source · secondary lists: MSI required, IMA —
- AAMC PREview
- Not stated source
- Latest MCAT considered
- November 13, 2026
- Oldest MCAT considered
- June 2022
Casper status comes from the school's own admissions page where it states one, otherwise from published requirement lists; PREview from the school's page or the AAMC PREview policies report. Both change between cycles. Verify with the school.
Secondary application
- Required
- Yes
- Fee
- —
- Fee waiver available
- Not stated
- Deadline
- Nov 13, 2026 November 13, 2026
- Who receives it
- Submit via TMDSAS
Source: (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13). Verify with the school.
Letters of evaluation
- Committee letter
- Accepted
- Letter packet
- Accepted
- Individual letters
- Accepted
Source: (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13). Verify with the school.
Waitlist and deposit
- Typical waitlist positions
- varies
- Offers made from the waitlist
- —
- Procedure
- N/A
- Deposit required
- No
Cost of attendance and debt
| In state | Out of state | |
|---|---|---|
| Tuition and fees | $22,442 | $38,382 |
| Health insurance | $3,438 | $3,438 |
| Total cost of attendance, year 1 | $60,536 | $76,476 |
100% of students receive aid. Average indebtedness of indebted graduates: $0.
Official AAMC counts, 2025-2026
- Applications
- 4,990 (82.7% in-state)
- Matriculants
- 40 (95% in-state, 5% out-of-state; 52.5% women)
- Applications per seat
- 125
Source: AAMC FACTS Table A-1: Applications and Matriculants by School, State of Legal Residence, and Gender, 2025-2026 (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13).
Entering class 2025
- Matriculated
- 40
- MCAT (mean)
- 503
- GPA (mean)
- 3.81
- In-state
- 93%
- Women
- 53%
Source: the school's published class profile (page), retrieved 2026-10-13. Statistics describe one entering class and are not cutoffs.
Transfer applications
No
Mission statement
The School of Medicine’s mission is fourfold: Community Engagement: Embed the School of Medicine within East Texas, focusing on communication, responsiveness, and community. The School of Medicine is East Texas, and everything we do will be in partnership with our communities. Education: Recruit, support and develop a representative healthcare and research workforce from East Texas, focused on reducing health disparities in East Texas. Research: Develop an array of biomedical, clinical, translational and population-based research programs focused on understanding and eliminating health disparities in East Texas. Clinical: Expand access to top-quality healthcare in the local communities of East Texas by developing and implementing innovative healthcare systems and leveraging existing infrastructure and programs.
Notes
New school: the statistics page begins with entering year (EY) 2023 and shows 40 matriculants each year. EY2025: 19 male / 21 female (pct computed), 37 Texas residents (pct computed), average GPA 3.81, 'Average Last 30 Hours BCPM' 3.90 (not a conventional science GPA, so science_gpa fields are null), average MCAT 503. EY2024: GPA 3.65, MCAT 505; EY2023: GPA 3.75, MCAT 506. TMDSAS school; Casper SJT via Acuity required (last test date accepted November 12, 2026); MCAT no more than five years old; US citizens/permanent residents. uttyler.edu fails TLS verification in the fetch tool; pages were retrieved with a plain HTTPS client.
Sources for this page
- MSAR Report for Applicants and Advisors: Premed Course Requirements 2027 · AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13
- MSAR Report for Applicants and Advisors: Admission Policies and Information 2027 · AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13
- · AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13
- · AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13
- MSAR Report for Applicants and Advisors: Interview Procedures 2027 · AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13
- · AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13
- · AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13
- · AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13
- · AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13
- · AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13
- · AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13
- · AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13
- · AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13
- · AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13
- · AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13
- · AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13
- School website (class profile and admissions pages)
- tmdsas
- LCME Directory - Accredited Programs
- AAMC FACTS Table A-1: Applications and Matriculants by School, State of Legal Residence, and Gender, 2025-2026 · AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13
- https://www.uttyler.edu/academics/colleges-schools/medicine/admissions/ · school website, retrieved 2026-10-13
- https://www.uttyler.edu/academics/colleges-schools/medicine/admissions/admissions-statistics/index.php · school website, retrieved 2026-10-13
- https://www.uttyler.edu/academics/colleges-schools/medicine/admissions/faq/index.php · school website, retrieved 2026-10-13
AAMC report data may be reproduced and distributed with attribution for individual, educational and noncommercial purposes. This page is free and carries no advertising.