Shortlist
Menu

DO · San Antonio, TX · private · applies through AACOMAS

University of the Incarnate Word School of Osteopathic Medicine

Known as UIWSOM

COCA: AccreditationWebsiteAdmissions page
506MCAT mean · 2026
3.70GPA mean
159Class size
78%In-state matriculants
—Secondary fee
—Secondary deadline
$64,875Tuition + fees, in state
$64,875Tuition + fees, out of state

Prerequisite coursework

Verify with the school
AP credit: YesCommunity college: Not statedOnline courses: YesPass/fail: Yes
CourseStatusHoursLabPass/failAP creditOnlineCommunity collegeNotes from the school
Biology
Required8YesYesYesYesNot stated'minimum of eight semester hours, including two semester hours of laboratory work'; 'C' or higher (C- does not meet the requirement)
General/Inorganic Chemistry
Required8YesYesYesYesNot statedMinimum of eight semester hours, including two semester hours of laboratory work
Organic Chemistry
Required8YesYesYesYesNot statedMinimum of eight semester hours, including two semester hours of laboratory work
Physics
Required8YesYesYesYesNot statedMinimum of eight semester hours, including two semester hours of laboratory work
English
Required6Not statedYesYesYesNot statedMinimum of six semester hours of composition and/or literature
Advanced sciences (human anatomy, physiology, biochemistry, genetics, cell biology, neuroscience, microbiology, behavioral science, immunology)
Recommended—Not statedYesYesYesNot stated
Philosophy or other humanities
Recommended6Not statedYesYesYesNot stated
Math/statistics
Recommended6Not statedYesYesYesNot stated

Source: school-website. Verify with the school.

Who can apply

Out-of-state applicants
Not stated 'At this time, UIWSOM cannot admit international students. All matriculants must be U.S. citizens or permanent residents.' Completion of no less than 75% of the credits required for a baccalaureate at the time of application. Entering class of 2026 was 73% Texas residents.
International applicants
No
DACA applicants
Not stated

Source: not recorded. Verify with the school.

Interview

Traditional / one-on-oneIn person
Format
in_person 'Competitive applicants are invited to campus to interview'; format not stated.

Tags are derived from the text above by keyword; read the text before relying on a tag.

Source: school-website. Verify with the school.

Situational-judgment tests and MCAT dates

Casper
Not stated
AAMC PREview
Not stated

Casper status comes from the school's own admissions page where it states one, otherwise from published requirement lists; PREview from the school's page or the AAMC PREview policies report. Both change between cycles. Verify with the school.

Cost of attendance and debt

In stateOut of state
Tuition and fees$64,875$64,875
Health insurance——
Total cost of attendance, year 1——

Tuition as listed on AACOM's Choose DO Explorer (self-reported by the college); fees and cost of attendance not included.

Source: AACOM Choose DO Explorer (listing with 75 campus cards) and per-college detail pages (aacom.org/detail-pages/com/...) (AACOM, retrieved 2026-10-13).

Entering class 2026

Applicants
3,595
Interviewed
883
Matriculated
159
MCAT (mean)
506
GPA (mean)
3.70 · science 3.60
In-state
78%

Source: the school's published class profile (page), retrieved 2026-10-13. Statistics describe one entering class and are not cutoffs.

Notes

Accreditation statement on college site: The School of Osteopathic Medicine (UIWSOM) is accredited by the Commission on Osteopathic College Accreditation (COCA) to offer the academic program leading to the Doctor of Osteopathic Medicine (D.O.) degree. ... Following the comprehensive initial accreditation site visit and COCA review, the UIWSOM was granted full accreditation in May, 2021. The next scheduled site visit and comprehensive accreditation review is scheduled for 2028. | AACOM profile accreditation text: The School of Osteopathic Medicine (UIWSOM) is accredited by the Commission on Osteopathic College Accreditation (COCA) to offer the academic program leading to the Doctor of Osteopathic Medicine (DO) degree. Applies through AACOMAS; 'As a private osteopathic medical school, UIWSOM does not participate in' TMDSAS. The 2026-2027 cycle closes March 15, 2027; rolling admissions; follows AACOMAS traffic guidelines. Entering class of 2026: overall GPA 3.7, science GPA 3.6, MCAT 506. WebFetch failed on uiw.edu domains (DNS/TLS errors); pages read in the built-in browser. San Antonio, TX.

Sources for this page

AAMC report data may be reproduced and distributed with attribution for individual, educational and noncommercial purposes. This page is free and carries no advertising.