Shortlist
Menu

MD · BC · applies through AMCAS

University of British Columbia Faculty of Medicine

Accreditation not recordedWebsite[email protected](604) 875-8298
—MCAT
—GPA
—Class size
—In-state matriculants
—Secondary fee
—Secondary deadline
$24,838Tuition + fees, in state
$24,838Tuition + fees, out of state

Prerequisite coursework

Verify with the school
AP credit: YesCommunity college: Varies by courseOnline courses: YesPass/fail: Varies by course
CourseStatusHoursLabPass/failAP creditOnlineCommunity collegeNotes from the school
Anatomy
BIOL
Recommended—NoYesYesYesYes
Biochemistry
CHEM
Recommended—YesYesYesYesYes
Biology
BIOL
Recommended—NoYesYesYesYes
Cell Biology
BIOL
Recommended—NoYesYesYesYes
Chemistry
CHEM
Recommended—YesYesYesYesYes
Literature
ENGL
Required3NoNoYesYesCase-by-case
Provided it is university transferrable
Microbiology
BIOL
Recommended—NoYesYesYesYes
Physiology
BIOL
Recommended—NoYesYesYesYes
Psychology
BESS
Recommended—NoYesYesYesYes
Sociology
BESS
Recommended—NoYesYesYesYes
Statistics
MATH
Recommended—NoYesYesYesYes

Community-college pathways

Upward transfer: YesAccelerated: YesSupplemental: Yes

All university transferable college coursework will be considered in an applicant's grade point average calculation. Applicants must submit original transcripts from their community college along with transcripts from all other post-secondary institutions they have attended, even if they took college courses during high school.

Source: (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13).

Source: MSAR Report for Applicants and Advisors: Premed Course Requirements 2027 (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13). Verify with the school.

Admission policies, in the school's words

Please review our website for a comprehensive overview of who should apply, admissions requirements, statistics, and evaluation criteria: https://mdprogram.med.ubc.ca/admissions/

Source: MSAR Report for Applicants and Advisors: Admission Policies and Information 2027 (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13). Verify with the school.

Who can apply

Out-of-state applicants
Yes Out-of-province applicants may comprise up to 10% of the admitted class in each year (33 students). Please review our website for more information regarding out-of-province applicant eligibility.
Canadian applicants
Not stated
International applicants
No
DACA applicants
No

Source: (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13). Verify with the school.

Interview

MMI
Format
Multiple Mini Interview (MMI): Applicants are presented with a series of scenarios designed to evaluate non-academic qualities.
Invitations sent
Mid-December 2026
Typical interview day
Please see our website: http://mdprogram.med.ubc. ca/admissions/interviews/
Regional interviews
Regional interviews are currently not available- but subject to change as desired by the program
Video interviews
Yes- but subject to change as desired by the program

Tags are derived from the text above by keyword; read the text before relying on a tag.

Source: MSAR Report for Applicants and Advisors: Interview Procedures 2027 (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13). Verify with the school.

Situational-judgment tests and MCAT dates

Casper
Not stated
AAMC PREview
Not stated
Latest MCAT considered
September 12, 2026
Oldest MCAT considered
April 2015

Casper status comes from the school's own admissions page where it states one, otherwise from published requirement lists; PREview from the school's page or the AAMC PREview policies report. Both change between cycles. Verify with the school.

Source: (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13).

Secondary application

Required
Yes
Fee
—
Fee waiver available
Not stated
Deadline
Who receives it
Applicants invited for interview

Source: (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13). Verify with the school.

Letters of evaluation

Committee letter
Not accepted
Letter packet
Not accepted
Individual letters
Not accepted

Source: (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13). Verify with the school.

Waitlist and deposit

Typical waitlist positions
—
Offers made from the waitlist
40
Procedure
Applicants on the waitlist are contacted in rounds following the previous round's acceptance deadlines. Waitlisted applicants can be contacted until the first day of class for year 1 students.
Deposit required
Yes in state $1,000 · out of state $1,000
Deposit due
May 29, 2026
Refundable / applied to tuition
No Yes

Source: (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13).

Cost of attendance and debt

In stateOut of state
Tuition and fees$24,838$24,838
Health insurance$0$0
Total cost of attendance, year 1$0$0

0% of students receive aid. Average indebtedness of indebted graduates: $0.

Source: (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13).

Transfer applications

No Contact Name: Dr. Shahin Shirzad, Assistant Dean MD Admissions Phone Number: 6048226209 Email Address: [email protected] Website: https://mdprogram.med.ubc.ca/admissions/post-acceptanceconditions/

Source: (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13).

Mission statement

The University of British Columbia’s MD Undergraduate Program strives to deliver exemplary distributed medical education that prepares future physicians to collaborate with patients and their circle of support in providing culturally safe, high-quality healthcare for the diverse and changing populations in BC and beyond, including Indigenous Peoples, people living in rural and remote communities, and those who disproportionately experience adverse outcomes in health care*. Our graduates are prepared to engage with diverse communities and to embrace generalist or specialist postgraduate training to further prepare them for medical practice and to contribute innovative improvements to healthcare in BC and globally. The Program is grounded in the Faculty of Medicine’s vision “Transforming Health for Everyone,” and embodies the values of respect, integrity, compassion, collaboration and equity. *People who disproportionately experience adverse outcomes in healthcare include but are not limited to those experiencing inequity due to their race, ethnicity, religion, spiritual beliefs, gender identity, gender expression, sexuality, socioeconomic status, or other markers of human diversity; older adults living with complex health conditions; newcomers to Canada, people whose first language is not English; people living with disabilities and/or chronic health needs, including people living with mental illness and people who use substances.

Source: (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13).

Sources for this page

AAMC report data may be reproduced and distributed with attribution for individual, educational and noncommercial purposes. This page is free and carries no advertising.