MD · Orlando, FL · public · applies through AMCAS
University of Central Florida College of Medicine
Known as UCF
Prerequisite coursework
Verify with the school| Course | Status | Hours | Lab | Pass/fail | AP credit | Online | Community college | Notes from the school |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Anatomy BIOL | Recommended | — | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | |
| Anthropology BESS | Recommended | — | No | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | |
| Biochemistry CHEM | Required | 3 | No | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Labs are encouraged but not required, depending on availability at the primary undergraduate institution. |
| Biology BIOL | Required | — | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | |
| Cell Biology BIOL | Recommended | — | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | |
| Chemistry CHEM | Required | 8 | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | General Chemistry I and II |
| Composition & Rhetoric ENGL | Required | 6 | No | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Earned credit through the second level of English Composition. |
| Genetics BIOL | Recommended | — | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | |
| Mathematics MATH | Required | 6 | No | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | College Algebra level or higher. |
| Microbiology BIOL | Recommended | — | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | |
| Organic Chemistry CHEM | Required | 4 | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | |
| Physics PHYS | Required | 8 | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Algebra or Calculus-based courses are accepted |
| Physiology BIOL | Recommended | — | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | |
| Psychology BESS | Recommended | — | No | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | |
| Sociology BESS | Recommended | — | No | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | |
| Statistics MATH | Recommended | — | No | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
Community-college pathways
The UCF College of Medicine has no policy prohibiting applicants from taking courses online or at a community college.
Source: MSAR Report for Applicants and Advisors: Premed Course Requirements 2027 (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13). Verify with the school.
Admission policies, in the school's words
The UCF College of Medicine Admissions Office will abide by the recommendations of the Application and Acceptance Protocols for Admissions Officers outlined on the AAMC website. Letters of Intent to enroll will be accepted and should be sent only by students who fully intend to enroll in the UCF MD program, should an offer of admission be made. UCF COM Admissions Office will not make an offer to a student who has been reported as matriculated to another MD institution. The UCF MD Admissions Office upholds high standards of professionalism and transparency throughout the admissions process. Applicants have consistently lauded the UCF Admissions Office for its transparency in communicating admissions processes and advice to applicants. We believe the more an applicant knows, the better off we all are. Your decision to enroll in an MD program is life-changing. We are happy to assist our applicants in considering their offers, whether they intend to enroll in UCF or another program. However, professionalism begins with the admissions process. Any accepted student may be dismissed from the program for unprofessional conduct during the admissions cycle. Please review and adhere to the AAMC Protocols for Applicants.
Source: MSAR Report for Applicants and Advisors: Admission Policies and Information 2027 (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13). Verify with the school.
Who can apply
- Out-of-state applicants
- Yes Up to 35% of each class is accepted from out-of-state.
- Canadian applicants
- Case-by-case Applicant must be a U.S. Citizen. Degrees accepted from some Canadian institutions and will be at the discretion of the Office of Admissions.
- International applicants
- No
- DACA applicants
- No
- Residency preference (school's page)
- Described as a state-supported program open to U.S. citizens and permanent residents; no Florida residency preference is stated for regular admission (Early Decision is limited to Florida residents), and no preference is given to applicants from UCF or any other institution.
Source: (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13). Verify with the school.
Interview
- Format
- Two, partially closed, virtual interviews. Interviewers will not have access to academic institutions, grades, MCAT scores or letters . Interviewees will receive instructions prior to their interview date.
- Invitations sent
- August 2026
- Typical interview day
- Once a student has participated in two Zoombased interviews, they attend a mandatory threehour virtual visit. The virtual visit will include: • Q&A with the COM Leadership • Overview of the curriculum • A student panel • Overview of the admissions committee decision process, timelines, and future communication and assistance Opportunities to tour the facilities will be available throughout the admission cycle. Dates will be provided when students are invited to interview.
- Regional interviews
- Regional interviews are not available.
- Video interviews
- Interviews will be conducted via Zoom.
- School's admissions page says
- Two virtual interviews conducted on Zoom, each with a different admissions committee member.
Tags are derived from the text above by keyword; read the text before relying on a tag.
Source: MSAR Report for Applicants and Advisors: Interview Procedures 2027 (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13). Verify with the school.
Situational-judgment tests and MCAT dates
- Casper
- Not on official list source
- AAMC PREview
- Exploring (not used in decisions) "Exploring PREview for Future use – will not be used in this cycle’s admissions decisions" source
- Latest MCAT considered
- September 12, 2026
- Oldest MCAT considered
- January 2024
Casper status comes from the school's own admissions page where it states one, otherwise from published requirement lists; PREview from the school's page or the AAMC PREview policies report. Both change between cycles. Verify with the school.
Secondary application
- Required
- Yes
- Fee
- $30
- Fee waiver available
- Yes
- Deadline
- Dec 1, 2026 December 1, 2026
- Who receives it
- Screened applicants
Source: (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13). Verify with the school.
Letters of evaluation
- Committee letter
- Accepted
- Letter packet
- Accepted
- Individual letters
- Accepted
Source: (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13). Verify with the school.
Waitlist and deposit
- Typical waitlist positions
- 300
- Offers made from the waitlist
- 100
- Procedure
- Students waitlisted will know their position and probability of being accepted. Applicants will receive updates every 4-6 weeks for the duration of their time on this list beginning in late November.
- Deposit required
- No
Cost of attendance and debt
| In state | Out of state | |
|---|---|---|
| Tuition and fees | $29,680 | $56,554 |
| Health insurance | $3,556 | $3,556 |
| Total cost of attendance, year 1 | $58,121 | $84,995 |
100% of students receive aid. Average indebtedness of indebted graduates: $170,514.
Official AAMC counts, 2025-2026
- Applications
- 5,395 (46.2% in-state)
- Matriculants
- 120 (69.2% in-state, 30.8% out-of-state; 46.7% women)
- Applications per seat
- 45
Source: AAMC FACTS Table A-1: Applications and Matriculants by School, State of Legal Residence, and Gender, 2025-2026 (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13).
Entering class
- Matriculated
- 120
- MCAT (mean)
- 514
- GPA (mean)
- 3.94
Source: the school's published class profile (page), retrieved 2026-10-13. Statistics describe one entering class and are not cutoffs.
Transfer applications
No
Mission statement
The University of Central Florida College of Medicine educates and inspires individuals to be exemplary physicians and scientists, leaders in medicine, scholars in discovery, and adopters of innovative technology to improve the health and well-being of all. Our patient-centered mission is achieved by outstanding medical care and services, groundbreaking research, and leading-edge medical and biomedical education in a diverse environment.
Notes
Requirements page: 'Our enrolled students presented an average Overall GPA of 3.94 and an average MCAT score of 514 last year' (year not specified). Minimums: 3.0 overall GPA, 3.0 BCPM GPA, MCAT 500 (best single composite within three years); typical cycle ~5,500 applications, ~500 interviewed, ~300 accepted for a final class of 120. Early Decision guidelines require Florida residency, cumulative/science GPA of 3.8 or better and MCAT of at least 513 with no section below 128. Secondary fee amount not stated.
Sources for this page
- MSAR Report for Applicants and Advisors: Premed Course Requirements 2027 · AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13
- MSAR Report for Applicants and Advisors: Admission Policies and Information 2027 · AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13
- · AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13
- · AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13
- MSAR Report for Applicants and Advisors: Interview Procedures 2027 · AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13
- · AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13
- · AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13
- · AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13
- · AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13
- · AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13
- · AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13
- · AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13
- · AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13
- · AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13
- · AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13
- · AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13
- · AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13
- School website (class profile and admissions pages)
- LCME Directory - Accredited Programs
- AAMC FACTS Table A-1: Applications and Matriculants by School, State of Legal Residence, and Gender, 2025-2026 · AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13
- https://med.ucf.edu/admissions/application-requirements/ · school website, retrieved 2026-10-13
- https://med.ucf.edu/admissions/admissions-faq/ · school website, retrieved 2026-10-13
- https://med.ucf.edu/admissions/m-d-program-interview-process/ · school website, retrieved 2026-10-13
AAMC report data may be reproduced and distributed with attribution for individual, educational and noncommercial purposes. This page is free and carries no advertising.