MD · ON · applies through AMCAS
University of Ottawa Faculty of Medicine
Prerequisite coursework
Verify with the school| Course | Status | Hours | Lab | Pass/fail | AP credit | Online | Community college | Notes from the school |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Biochemistry CHEM | Required | 4 | Yes | No | No | Case-by-case The course can be online but we do not accept home or virtual labs. | No | Introduction to Biochemistry |
| Biology BIOL | Required | 8 | Yes | No | Case-by-case Only High Level (4-5) is accepted. | Case-by-case The course can be online but we do not accept home or virtual labs. | Yes | We also accept Anatomie and Physiology to satisfy the Biology requirement. |
| Chemistry CHEM | Required | 8 | Yes | No | Case-by-case Only High Level (4-5) is accepted. | Case-by-case The course can be online but we do not accept home or virtual labs. | Case-by-case General Chemistry from college is accepted, however, the Organic Chemistry must be done at the University level. | General Chemistry (3 credits) + Organic Chemistry (3 credits) |
| Statistics MATH | Required | 3 | No | No | No | Yes | No | Statistics |
Community-college pathways
More information regarding candidates applying with a CEGEP or community college diploma can be found here: https://www.uottawa.ca/faculty-medicine/undergraduate/admissions/application-process
Source: MSAR Report for Applicants and Advisors: Premed Course Requirements 2027 (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13). Verify with the school.
Admission policies, in the school's words
To find all the details regarding our admissions requirements and policies, please consult the following link: https://www.uottawa.ca/faculty-medicine/undergraduate/admissions/applicationprocess
Source: MSAR Report for Applicants and Advisors: Admission Policies and Information 2027 (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13). Verify with the school.
Who can apply
- Out-of-state applicants
- Yes Must be Canadian citizens, permanent resident or refugee status.in Canada As per the Ministry of Health new guidelines, only 5% of seats will be reserved for Out-of-province applicants.
- Canadian applicants
- Not stated
- International applicants
- Case-by-case Must be Canadian citizens, permanent resident or refugee status in Canada or with specific agreement contract.
- DACA applicants
- Not stated
Source: (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13). Verify with the school.
Interview
- Format
- Semi-structured, 40minute interviews. Panel of three interviewers; a faculty member, a member of the community (who can also be a physician) and a fourth-year medical student.
- Invitations sent
- Last week of January
- Typical interview day
- On each interview days, our first and second year students offer virtual tours and presentations.
- Regional interviews
- Regional interviews are not available.
- Video interviews
- In 2026, the interviews were conducted virtually and to be reassessed the following cycle.
Tags are derived from the text above by keyword; read the text before relying on a tag.
Source: MSAR Report for Applicants and Advisors: Interview Procedures 2027 (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13). Verify with the school.
Situational-judgment tests and MCAT dates
- Casper
- Not stated
- AAMC PREview
- Not stated
- Latest MCAT considered
- —
- Oldest MCAT considered
- —
Casper status comes from the school's own admissions page where it states one, otherwise from published requirement lists; PREview from the school's page or the AAMC PREview policies report. Both change between cycles. Verify with the school.
Secondary application
- Required
- Not stated
- Fee
- $0
- Fee waiver available
- Not stated
- Deadline
- Who receives it
- n/a
Source: (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13). Verify with the school.
Letters of evaluation
- Committee letter
- Not accepted
- Letter packet
- Not accepted
- Individual letters
- Not accepted
Source: (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13). Verify with the school.
Waitlist and deposit
- Typical waitlist positions
- N/A
- Offers made from the waitlist
- —
- Deposit required
- Yes in state $1,000 · out of state $1,000
- Deposit due
- May 26, 2026
- Refundable / applied to tuition
- No Yes
Cost of attendance and debt
| In state | Out of state | |
|---|---|---|
| Tuition and fees | $25,487 | $29,504 |
| Health insurance | $0 | $0 |
| Total cost of attendance, year 1 | $0 | $0 |
0% of students receive aid. Average indebtedness of indebted graduates: $0.
Transfer applications
Yes Contact Name: Phone Number: 6135625409 Email Address: [email protected] Website: https://www.uottawa.ca/facultymedicine/undergraduate/admissions/application-process
Mission statement
To expand our impact on the health of individuals and populations in both official languages through interdisciplinary education, research and responsive care.
Sources for this page
- MSAR Report for Applicants and Advisors: Premed Course Requirements 2027 · AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13
- MSAR Report for Applicants and Advisors: Admission Policies and Information 2027 · AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13
- · AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13
- · AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13
- MSAR Report for Applicants and Advisors: Interview Procedures 2027 · AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13
- · AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13
- · AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13
- · AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13
- · AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13
- · AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13
- · AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13
- · AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13
- · AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13
- · AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13
- · AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13
- · AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13
AAMC report data may be reproduced and distributed with attribution for individual, educational and noncommercial purposes. This page is free and carries no advertising.