Shortlist
Menu

MD · San Juan, PR · public · applies through AMCAS

University of Puerto Rico School of Medicine

Known as UPR (Puerto Rico)

LCME: FullWebsiteAdmissions page[email protected](787) 758-2525
—MCAT
—GPA
—Class size
94%In-state matriculants (AAMC 2025)
$30Secondary fee
—Secondary deadline
$18,200Tuition + fees, in state
$35,700Tuition + fees, out of state

Prerequisite coursework

Verify with the school
AP credit: YesCommunity college: YesOnline courses: YesPass/fail: Yes
CourseStatusHoursLabPass/failAP creditOnlineCommunity collegeNotes from the school
Biology
BIOL
Required8YesYesYesYesYes
Chemistry
CHEM
Required16YesYesYesYesYes8-semester credits of General Chemistry and 8semester credits of Organic Chemistry
Literature
ENGL
Required24NoYesYesYesYesThe program requires 12 semester credits of English or 6 semester credits of Honors or Advanced courses with an A or B. Additionally, it requires 12 semester credits of Spanish or 6 semester credits of Honors or Advanced courses with an A or B.
Physics
PHYS
Required8YesYesYesYesYes
Sociology
BESS
Required12NoYesYesYesYesPsychology, Sociology, Economics, Politics, Anthropology, and Ethics courses are accepted.

Community-college pathways

Upward transfer: YesAccelerated: YesSupplemental: Yes

Bachelor’s Degree in a college or university accredited by the Council of Higher Education or the corresponding US accrediting agency.

Source: (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13).

Source: MSAR Report for Applicants and Advisors: Premed Course Requirements 2027 (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13). Verify with the school.

Who can apply

Out-of-state applicants
Case-by-case Only applicants who complete the minimum of 2 strong ties with PR, will be considered for the firs screening.
Canadian applicants
No
International applicants
No
DACA applicants
No
Residency preference (school's page)
Preference is given to qualified applicants who are legal residents of Puerto Rico; highly qualified non-residents must demonstrate strong ties to Puerto Rico (birthplace, high school, college, parents' residence), and foreign nationals are considered only with established legal residence in Puerto Rico.

Source: (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13). Verify with the school.

Interview

Virtual
Invitations sent
Interview invitations are sent by email or phone, beginning in the last two weeks of November.
Typical interview day
It is required that interview candidates bring a portfolio that must include documents that evidence your participation in extracurricular activities (research, community service, leadership and scholarly activities).
Regional interviews
Regional interviews are not available.
Video interviews
Virtual interviews will be accepted from November 1st to March 15.
School's admissions page says
Selected candidates are invited to a personal interview (format not stated).

Tags are derived from the text above by keyword; read the text before relying on a tag.

Source: MSAR Report for Applicants and Advisors: Interview Procedures 2027 (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13). Verify with the school.

Situational-judgment tests and MCAT dates

Casper
Not on official list source
AAMC PREview
Not used "Exploring PREview for Future use – will not be used in this cycle’s admissions decisions" source
Latest MCAT considered
September 30, 2026
Oldest MCAT considered
September 2023

Casper status comes from the school's own admissions page where it states one, otherwise from published requirement lists; PREview from the school's page or the AAMC PREview policies report. Both change between cycles. Verify with the school.

Source: (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13).

Secondary application

Required
Yes
Fee
$30
Fee waiver available
Not stated
Deadline
Who receives it
online RCM Central Admissions Office

Source: (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13). Verify with the school.

Letters of evaluation

Committee letter
Not accepted
Letter packet
Not accepted
Individual letters
Not accepted

Source: (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13). Verify with the school.

Waitlist and deposit

Typical waitlist positions
20
Offers made from the waitlist
0
Procedure
Candidates on the waiting list are admitted each time a student declines, according to the order of the admission formula.
Deposit required
Yes in state $100 · out of state $100
Deposit due
May 1, 2026
Refundable / applied to tuition
No Yes

Source: (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13).

Cost of attendance and debt

In stateOut of state
Tuition and fees$18,200$35,700
Health insurance$1,486$1,486
Total cost of attendance, year 1$59,390$76,890

76% of students receive aid. Average indebtedness of indebted graduates: $128,498.

Source: (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13).

Official AAMC counts, 2025-2026

Applications
801 (43.6% in-state)
Matriculants
105 (94.3% in-state, 5.7% out-of-state; 61.9% women)
Applications per seat
8

Source: AAMC FACTS Table A-1: Applications and Matriculants by School, State of Legal Residence, and Gender, 2025-2026 (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13).

Transfer applications

case-by-case Contact Name: Ruth Marilyn Rivera Phone Number: 7877582525 Email Address: [email protected] Website:

Source: (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13).

Mission statement

Provide quality education for diverse and competent biomedical sciences researchers and physicians with the scientific, professional and ethical knowledge, skills and attitudes needed to provide excellent health services, with empathy and humanism, at the forefront of technology. Generate new knowledge through biomedical, clinical, translational and community research to promote and seek solutions to local and global health problems. Provide quality inter-professional health care services while contributing to the formulation of public policy in health sciences and education in Puerto Rico.

Source: (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13).

Notes

No class statistics published. Requirements: bachelor's degree with minimum overall and science GPA of 3.00; working knowledge of English and Spanish (curriculum in both languages, patient interactions in Spanish); a separate internal UPR application with a $30 non-refundable fee in addition to AMCAS. The August 2022 requirements document states MCAT scores below 495 are not considered and that the MCAT is valid for three years; the current requirements page does not list an MCAT cutoff.

Sources for this page

AAMC report data may be reproduced and distributed with attribution for individual, educational and noncommercial purposes. This page is free and carries no advertising.