MD · Dallas, TX · public · applies through TMDSAS (also AMCAS)
University of Texas Southwestern Medical School
Known as UT Southwestern
Prerequisite coursework
Verify with the school| Course | Status | Hours | Lab | Pass/fail | AP credit | Online | Community college | Notes from the school |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Biochemistry CHEM | Required | 3 | No | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Biochemistry may be taught in the Biology, Biochemistry, or Chemistry Department. Biochemistry cannot be an introductory course. |
| Biochemistry CHEM | Required | 3 | No | Yes | Yes | Case-by-case Biochemistry | Yes | |
| Biology BIOL | Required | 14 | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Minimum 14 semester hours including formal laboratory experience may be one of the following: 12 lecture hours 2 lab hours Courses must be applicable toward a baccalaureate degree in a traditional science field regardless of student’s major If 2 semesters of biochemistry are completed, 1 semester of biochemistry will be accepted toward fulfilling this requirement. |
| Chemistry CHEM | Required | 12 | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Minimum 12 semester hours must include: 4 semester hours general (inorganic) chemistry for science majors including corresponding laboratory experience 8 semester hours organic chemistry for science majors including corresponding laboratory experience |
| Chemistry CHEM | Required | 4 | Yes | Yes | Yes | Case-by-case n/a | Yes | We require 3 lecture hours and 1 lab hour of general chemistry |
| Composition & Rhetoric ENGL | Required | 6 | No | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Any course approved by an English Department that fulfills general education English requirement of a baccalaureate degree. Remedial or developmental courses or “English as a Second Language” courses are not accepted. Humanities or Social Science courses with significant expository writing may satisfy this requirement. |
| Mathematics MATH | Required | 3 | No | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Minimum 3 semester credit hours of college calculus or statistics (preferably biostatistics) |
| Physics PHYS | Required | 8 | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Minimum 8 semester credit hours, including lab |
Community-college pathways
Courses taken at any regionally accredited undergraduate institution in the US or Canada are acceptable including junior and community college.
Source: MSAR Report for Applicants and Advisors: Premed Course Requirements 2027 (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13). Verify with the school.
Admission policies, in the school's words
For UT Southwestern admissions policies, please visit our website at: https://www.utsouthwestern.edu/education/medical-school/admissions/
Source: MSAR Report for Applicants and Advisors: Admission Policies and Information 2027 (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13). Verify with the school.
Who can apply
- Out-of-state applicants
- Yes No more than 10% of the class may be out-of-state residents.
- Canadian applicants
- No
- International applicants
- No
- DACA applicants
- No
- Residency preference (school's page)
- Non-Texas residents are capped at 10 percent of the class under state law; no additional residency preference is stated.
Source: (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13). Verify with the school.
Interview
- Format
- Online interviews for 2027 cycle; Traditional format with two 25-minute, back to back faculty interviews. Interview format is TBD for 2028 cycle.
- Invitations sent
- July
- Typical interview day
- Interviews will be conducted beginning in August 2026 and will continue through mid January 2027. Interviews are held on Wednesdays and were conducted virtually for the 2026-27 cycle. The interview day consists of a virtual Medical School Overview presentation by an Associate Dean, student panel, and virtual campus tour video. Each candidate will be interviewed by two different faculty members in two 25-minute interviews. More information about the upcoming 2027-28 cycle will be posted in the Spring of 2027.
- Regional interviews
- Regional interviews are not available.
- Video interviews
- Yes - Required for 2027 cycle. TBD for 2028 cycle.
- School's admissions page says
- Two back-to-back faculty interviews; all interviews virtual for the 2026-2027 cycle
Tags are derived from the text above by keyword; read the text before relying on a tag.
Source: MSAR Report for Applicants and Advisors: Interview Procedures 2027 (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13). Verify with the school.
Situational-judgment tests and MCAT dates
- Casper
- Required source · secondary lists: MSI required, IMA —
- AAMC PREview
- Not stated source
- Latest MCAT considered
- October 01, 2026
- Oldest MCAT considered
- August 2022
Casper status comes from the school's own admissions page where it states one, otherwise from published requirement lists; PREview from the school's page or the AAMC PREview policies report. Both change between cycles. Verify with the school.
Secondary application
- Required
- Yes
- Fee
- —
- Fee waiver available
- Not stated
- Deadline
- Nov 1, 2026 November 1, 2026
- Who receives it
- You may submit your secondary application after we receive your primary application from TMDSAS.
Source: (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13). Verify with the school.
Letters of evaluation
- Committee letter
- Accepted
- Letter packet
- Accepted
- Individual letters
- Accepted
Source: (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13). Verify with the school.
Waitlist and deposit
- Typical waitlist positions
- Varies in the typical number of waitlist positions per cycle
- Offers made from the waitlist
- —
- Procedure
- Interviewed applicants on the wait-list will receive an email from the admissions office outlining the procedures. Wait-list offers are made by the admissions committee as seats are available.
- Deposit required
- No
Cost of attendance and debt
| In state | Out of state | |
|---|---|---|
| Tuition and fees | $25,122 | $38,222 |
| Health insurance | $3,438 | $3,438 |
| Total cost of attendance, year 1 | $64,790 | $77,890 |
65% of students receive aid. Average indebtedness of indebted graduates: $164,353.
Official AAMC counts, 2025-2026
- Applications
- 6,025 (75.3% in-state)
- Matriculants
- 229 (87.8% in-state, 12.2% out-of-state; 56.8% women)
- Applications per seat
- 26
Source: AAMC FACTS Table A-1: Applications and Matriculants by School, State of Legal Residence, and Gender, 2025-2026 (AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13).
Entering class 2026
- Matriculated
- 239
- MCAT (mean)
- 517
- GPA (mean)
- 3.93
- In-state
- 90%
- Women
- 51%
- First generation
- 10%
Source: the school's published class profile (page), retrieved 2026-10-13. Statistics describe one entering class and are not cutoffs.
Transfer applications
No
Mission statement
The mission of UT Southwestern Medical School is: Promoting health and a healthy society that enables individuals to achieve their full potential We: EDUCATE Physicians, scientists, and caregivers optimally prepared to serve the needs of patients and society DISCOVER Research that solves for unmet needs by finding better treatments, cures, and prevention with a commitment to ensuring real world application HEAL Best care possible today, with continuous improvement and innovation for better care tomorrow
Notes
Class profile page is headed 'Class of 2030' (its banner image says 'Class of 2029'): standard class size 239, GPA average 3.93, MCAT average 517, average age 23, first-generation 10%, 33% spoke a non-English language at home, 5% hold master's degrees, 31 home states; the admissions page gives 90% Texas residents and 51% women. TMDSAS school (application May 1 to October 1); no minimum GPA or MCAT; Casper required (test deadline October 27, 2026); only US citizens/permanent residents; no transfers.
Sources for this page
- MSAR Report for Applicants and Advisors: Premed Course Requirements 2027 · AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13
- MSAR Report for Applicants and Advisors: Admission Policies and Information 2027 · AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13
- · AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13
- · AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13
- MSAR Report for Applicants and Advisors: Interview Procedures 2027 · AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13
- · AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13
- · AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13
- · AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13
- · AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13
- · AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13
- · AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13
- · AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13
- · AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13
- · AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13
- · AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13
- · AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13
- School website (class profile and admissions pages)
- tmdsas
- LCME Directory - Accredited Programs
- AAMC FACTS Table A-1: Applications and Matriculants by School, State of Legal Residence, and Gender, 2025-2026 · AAMC, retrieved 2026-10-13
- https://medschool.utsouthwestern.edu/admissions/ · school website, retrieved 2026-10-13
- https://medschool.utsouthwestern.edu/admissions/class-profile.html · school website, retrieved 2026-10-13
AAMC report data may be reproduced and distributed with attribution for individual, educational and noncommercial purposes. This page is free and carries no advertising.