Shortlist
Menu

DO · Pikeville, KY · private · applies through AACOMAS

Kentucky College of Osteopathic Medicine

Known as KYCOM

COCA: AccreditationWebsiteAdmissions page
499MCAT mean · 2025
3.52GPA mean
133Class size
43%In-state matriculants
$75Secondary fee
Mar 1, 2027Secondary deadline
$59,750Tuition + fees, in state
$59,750Tuition + fees, out of state

Prerequisite coursework

Verify with the school
Biochemistry may replace Organic II (stated)The school's page does not state AP, community-college, online or pass/fail policies for these courses.
CourseStatusHoursLabNotes from the school
English Composition and Literature
Required6Not statedMinimum grade of C from an accredited institution
General Chemistry
Required8YesMust include lab work
Organic Chemistry
Required8YesMust include lab work; 'up to 4 of these hours may be Biochemistry'
Physics
Required8YesMust include lab work
Biological Sciences
Required12YesMust include lab work

Source: school-website. Verify with the school.

Interview

Traditional / one-on-one
Format
Interviews generally begin in August and run through April, or until the class is filled; format and modality not stated.

Tags are derived from the text above by keyword; read the text before relying on a tag.

Source: school-website. Verify with the school.

Situational-judgment tests and MCAT dates

Casper
Not stated
AAMC PREview
Not stated

Casper status comes from the school's own admissions page where it states one, otherwise from published requirement lists; PREview from the school's page or the AAMC PREview policies report. Both change between cycles. Verify with the school.

Secondary application

Required
Yes
Fee
$75
Fee waiver available
Not stated
Deadline
Mar 1, 2027 March 1
Who receives it
Applicants meeting minimum requirements receive access to the online KYCOM Secondary/Supplemental Application; $75 nonrefundable; March 1 for review; rolling.

Source: school-website. Verify with the school.

Cost of attendance and debt

In stateOut of state
Tuition and fees$59,750$59,750
Health insurance——
Total cost of attendance, year 1——

Tuition as listed on AACOM's Choose DO Explorer (self-reported by the college); fees and cost of attendance not included.

Source: AACOM Choose DO Explorer (listing with 75 campus cards) and per-college detail pages (aacom.org/detail-pages/com/...) (AACOM, retrieved 2026-10-13).

Entering class 2025

Applicants
3,441
Accepted
352
Matriculated
133
MCAT (mean)
499
GPA (mean)
3.52 · science 3.39
In-state
43%

Source: the school's published class profile (page), retrieved 2026-10-13. Statistics describe one entering class and are not cutoffs.

Notes

In-state/regional preference (college site): In accordance with KYCOM’s mission to educate osteopathic physicians trained in rural primary care, qualified applicants from Kentucky will be given preference for admission to KYCOM. | Accreditation statement on college site: The Kentucky College of Osteopathic Medicine (KYCOM) is accredited by the Commission on Osteopathic College Accreditation (COCA) of the American Osteopathic Association (AOA). | AACOM profile accreditation text: Kentucky College of Osteopathic Medicine has been granted accreditation by the American Osteopathic Association’s Commission on Osteopathic College Accreditation (COCA). AACOMAS lists this college as 'Kentucky College of Osteopathic Medicine' (sorted under K), so it may also appear in the A-M dataset. Complete files (AACOMAS plus secondary) by March 1; rolling review possibly starting in the summer; $1,000 nonrefundable deposit; background check, drug screening, immunizations and health insurance before enrollment. Pikeville, KY.

Sources for this page

AAMC report data may be reproduced and distributed with attribution for individual, educational and noncommercial purposes. This page is free and carries no advertising.