Shortlist
Menu

DO · Blacksburg, VA · private · applies through AACOMAS

Edward Via College of Osteopathic Medicine

Known as VCOM

COCA: AccreditationWebsiteAdmissions page
503.2MCAT mean
3.68GPA mean
180Class size
57%In-state matriculants
$25Secondary fee
—Secondary deadline
$52,500Tuition + fees, in state
$52,500Tuition + fees, out of state

Prerequisite coursework

Verify with the school
Biochemistry may replace Organic II (stated)The school's page does not state AP, community-college, online or pass/fail policies for these courses.
CourseStatusHoursNotes from the school
Biological Sciences
Required44 semester credit hours; lab not stated
Physics
Required66 semester credit hours
General and Inorganic Chemistry
Required66 semester credit hours
Organic Chemistry
Required66 semester credit hours, 'biochemistry may also be counted'
English and Composition
Required66 semester credit hours
Additional biomedical science (anatomy, physiology, biochemistry, immunology, microbiology, virology, genetics)
Required99 semester credit hours at the 200 level or above

Source: school-website. Verify with the school.

Who can apply

Out-of-state applicants
Not stated Applicants must be U.S. citizens or permanent U.S. residents. Foreign coursework must be evaluated by an AACOMAS-approved transcript evaluation company. Four campuses (Virginia, Carolinas, Auburn, Louisiana) share the same requirements; applicants name a preferred campus.
International applicants
No
DACA applicants
Not stated

Source: not recorded. Verify with the school.

Interview

Traditional / one-on-oneIn person
Format
in_person Interviews 'scheduled between August and April at the VCOM campus that is considering you for placement'.

Tags are derived from the text above by keyword; read the text before relying on a tag.

Source: school-website. Verify with the school.

Situational-judgment tests and MCAT dates

Casper
Not stated
AAMC PREview
Not stated

Casper status comes from the school's own admissions page where it states one, otherwise from published requirement lists; PREview from the school's page or the AAMC PREview policies report. Both change between cycles. Verify with the school.

Secondary application

Required
Yes
Fee
$25
Fee waiver available
Not stated
Deadline
Who receives it
Secondary application includes standardized test scores, essay questions, and a $25 processing fee; by email invitation.

Source: school-website. Verify with the school.

Cost of attendance and debt

In stateOut of state
Tuition and fees$52,500$52,500
Health insurance——
Total cost of attendance, year 1——

Tuition as listed on AACOM's Choose DO Explorer (self-reported by the college); fees and cost of attendance not included.

Source: AACOM Choose DO Explorer (listing with 75 campus cards) and per-college detail pages (aacom.org/detail-pages/com/...) (AACOM, retrieved 2026-10-13).

Entering class

Matriculated
180
MCAT (mean)
503.2
GPA (mean)
3.68
In-state
57%

Source: the school's published class profile (page), retrieved 2026-10-13. Statistics describe one entering class and are not cutoffs.

Notes

Accreditation statement on college site: VCOM currently holds the status of Accreditation for 10 years. | AACOM profile accreditation text: VCOM is accredited by the Commission on Osteopathic College Accreditation (COCA). | Campuses per COCA directory: Edward Via College of Osteopathic Medicine (Blacksburg, VA; main; first class 2003); Edward Via College of Osteopathic Medicine-Auburn (Auburn, AL; branch campus; first class 2015); Edward Via College of Osteopathic Medicine-Carolinas (Spartanburg, SC; branch campus; first class 2011); Edward Via College of Osteopathic Medicine-Louisiana (Monroe, LA; branch campus; first class 2020) 3.4 science and cumulative GPA (4.0 scale) calculated over the last 90 hours of the baccalaureate or master's degree. Courses must be completed within the last five years before application. Interview guarantee agreements with listed schools; Bluefield/VCOM MABS pathway.

Sources for this page

AAMC report data may be reproduced and distributed with attribution for individual, educational and noncommercial purposes. This page is free and carries no advertising.