DO · Hattiesburg, MS · private · applies through AACOMAS
William Carey University College of Osteopathic Medicine
Known as WCUCOM
Prerequisite coursework
Verify with the school- 'Online' or 'distance learning' courses are not acceptable for credit at WCUCOM; courses taken online are excluded from GPA calculation. Credit by examination is not available.
| Course | Status | Hours | Pass/fail | AP credit | Online | Community college | Notes from the school |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| English Composition and Literature | Required | 6 | Not stated | Not stated | No | Not stated | 'Writing intensive' courses are generally not accepted for this requirement; a final passing grade required in each prerequisite |
| General Chemistry | Required | 8 | Not stated | Not stated | No | Not stated | Lab 'where applicable as determined by WCUCOM' |
| Organic Chemistry | Required | 8 | Not stated | Not stated | No | Not stated | Lab 'where applicable as determined by WCUCOM' |
| Physics | Required | 8 | Not stated | Not stated | No | Not stated | Lab 'where applicable as determined by WCUCOM' |
| Biological Sciences | Required | 12 | Not stated | Not stated | No | Not stated | Lab 'where applicable as determined by WCUCOM' |
| Advanced biology (cell and molecular biology, histology, comparative anatomy, biochemistry, genetics, microbiology, physiology) | Recommended | — | Not stated | Not stated | No | Not stated | 'Strongly recommended' |
| Advanced math, psychology, social studies, economics, speech, philosophy | Recommended | — | Not stated | Not stated | No | Not stated | Described as 'desirable' |
Source: school-website. Verify with the school.
Who can apply
- Out-of-state applicants
- Yes International applicants: proficiency in written and spoken English (TOEFL may be required); foreign coursework evaluated for U.S. equivalence; at least one year of U.S. undergraduate or graduate training before consideration; F-1 visa with a WCUCOM-issued I-20; non-permanent residents must prove ability to finance their education. Preference to applicants from Mississippi, other Gulf South regions, and rural, medically underserved areas. At least 75% of the credits needed for a baccalaureate (90 semester hours) from an accredited institution.
- International applicants
- Yes
- DACA applicants
- Not stated
Source: not recorded. Verify with the school.
Interview
- Format
- in_person Selected applicants with a completed file are invited to a formal personal interview; applicants 'visit the campus'; format not stated.
Tags are derived from the text above by keyword; read the text before relying on a tag.
Source: school-website. Verify with the school.
Situational-judgment tests and MCAT dates
- Casper
- Required source · secondary lists: MSI required, IMA —
- AAMC PREview
- Not stated
Casper status comes from the school's own admissions page where it states one, otherwise from published requirement lists; PREview from the school's page or the AAMC PREview policies report. Both change between cycles. Verify with the school.
Secondary application
- Required
- Yes
- Fee
- —
- Fee waiver available
- Not stated
- Deadline
- Apr 15, 2027 April 15
- Who receives it
- Secondary application sent to applicants meeting general qualifications; CASPer (Acuity Insights) required as part of the secondary, from a test taken during the current cycle; fee not stated; materials due April 15.
Source: school-website. Verify with the school.
Cost of attendance and debt
| In state | Out of state | |
|---|---|---|
| Tuition and fees | $50,500 | $50,500 |
| Health insurance | — | — |
| Total cost of attendance, year 1 | — | — |
Tuition as listed on AACOM's Choose DO Explorer (self-reported by the college); fees and cost of attendance not included.
Source: AACOM Choose DO Explorer (listing with 75 campus cards) and per-college detail pages (aacom.org/detail-pages/com/...) (AACOM, retrieved 2026-10-13).
Entering class
- Matriculated
- 175
- MCAT (mean)
- 498.1
- GPA (mean)
- 3.50
- In-state
- 19%
Source: the school's published class profile (page), retrieved 2026-10-13. Statistics describe one entering class and are not cutoffs.
Notes
In-state/regional preference (college site): The WCUCOM Admissions Committee will consider applications from all qualified individuals; however, strong preference is given to students from Mississippi, other Gulf South regions, and rural, medically underserved areas of the country. The Admissions Committee seeks those individuals who clearly identify with the WCUCOM mission statement. | WCUCOM is a private institution and encourages applications from all qualified students who are interested in pursuing a career in osteopathic medicine. However, qualified applicants from Mississippi and the targeted regions of the Gulf South will be given preference for admission to WCUCOM. | Accreditation statement on college site: The William Carey University College of Osteopathic Medicine (WCUCOM) received full accreditation on May 3, 2014 by the Commission on Osteopathic College Accreditation (COCA) of the American Osteopathic Association (AOA). | AACOM profile accreditation text: William Carey University College of Osteopathic Medicine (WCU-COM) is accredited by the Commission on Osteopathic College Accreditation (COCA) with its next accreditation review in academic year 2034-35. AACOMAS application with official MCAT scores due March 15; secondary materials April 15; applications close once the class is filled. Admission is tentative until prerequisites are completed; active participation in OMM labs is an admission, matriculation and graduation requirement. Hattiesburg, MS.
Sources for this page
- aacom
- AACOM Choose DO Explorer (listing with 75 campus cards) and per-college detail pages (aacom.org/detail-pages/com/...) · AACOM, retrieved 2026-10-13
- School website (class profile and admissions pages)
- https://osteopathic.org/2025/08/29/august-2025-accreditation-decisions-for-colleges-of-osteopathic-medicine/ · school website, retrieved 2026-10-13
- https://osteopathic.org/wp-content/uploads/2018/03/colleges-of-osteopathic-medicine.pdf · school website, retrieved 2026-10-13
- https://www.aacom.org/become-a-doctor/u-s-colleges-of-osteopathic-medicine · school website, retrieved 2026-10-13
- https://www.aacom.org/detail-pages/com/william-carey-university-college-of-osteopathic-medicine · school website, retrieved 2026-10-13
- https://www.aacom.org/docs/default-source/become-doctor/us-com-directory.pdf · school website, retrieved 2026-10-13
- https://www.aacom.org/docs/default-source/research-reports/applicants-matriculants-by-com-2009-2025.xlsx?sfvrsn=a3634af4_13 · school website, retrieved 2026-10-13
- https://www.aacom.org/explore-med-schools/choose-do-explorer · school website, retrieved 2026-10-13
- https://www.wmcarey.edu/about/accreditation.html · school website, retrieved 2026-10-13
- https://www.wmcarey.edu/about/wcu-history.html · school website, retrieved 2026-10-13
- https://www.wmcarey.edu/osteopathic-medicine/ · school website, retrieved 2026-10-13
- https://www.wmcarey.edu/osteopathic-medicine/about.html · school website, retrieved 2026-10-13
- https://www.wmcarey.edu/osteopathic-medicine/prospective-students/admissions.html · school website, retrieved 2026-10-13
- https://www.wmcarey.edu/osteopathic-medicine/prospective-students/index.html · school website, retrieved 2026-10-13
- https://www.wmcarey.edu/program/doctoral-osteopathic-medicine.html · school website, retrieved 2026-10-13
AAMC report data may be reproduced and distributed with attribution for individual, educational and noncommercial purposes. This page is free and carries no advertising.