Shortlist
Menu

DO · Lewisburg, WV · public · applies through AACOMAS

West Virginia School of Osteopathic Medicine

Known as WVSOM

COCA: AccreditationWebsiteAdmissions page
503MCAT mean
—GPA
207Class size
26%In-state matriculants
$80Secondary fee
—Secondary deadline
$23,594Tuition + fees, in state
$56,394Tuition + fees, out of state

Prerequisite coursework

Verify with the school
The school's page does not state AP, community-college, online or pass/fail policies for these courses.
CourseStatusHoursLabNotes from the school
English
Required6Not statedA 'C' or better must be earned in all prerequisite coursework
Behavioral Sciences
Required6Not stated
Biology/Zoology
Required6Not statedTwo of the six required lab hours must be Biology labs
Chemistry
Required12Not stated'12 semester hours, including 3 hours of Biochemistry'
Biochemistry
Required3Not statedCounted within the 12 chemistry hours
Physics
Required6Not stated
Science laboratory
Required6Yes6 semester hours of labs: two hours must be Biology labs; the other four can be any mix of Biology, Chemistry or Physics labs
Anatomy, Embryology, Cell Biology, Histology, Medical Microbiology, Modern Genetics, Physiology, Immunology, Psychology, Sociology
Recommended—Not statedRecommended (optional)

Source: school-website. Verify with the school.

Who can apply

Out-of-state applicants
Yes 'Students are required to have U.S. citizenship or have proof of permanent resident status (green card).' Out-of-state residents pay an $80 supplemental fee (waived for WV residents); a full tuition waiver is advertised for West Virginia residents. 90 semester hours from a regionally accredited college or university.
International applicants
No
DACA applicants
Not stated

Source: not recorded. Verify with the school.

Interview

In person
Format
Format and modality not stated; the 'Applied: What's Next?' page refers to forms to complete 'prior to arriving on campus'.

Tags are derived from the text above by keyword; read the text before relying on a tag.

Source: school-website. Verify with the school.

Situational-judgment tests and MCAT dates

Casper
Not stated
AAMC PREview
Not stated

Casper status comes from the school's own admissions page where it states one, otherwise from published requirement lists; PREview from the school's page or the AAMC PREview policies report. Both change between cycles. Verify with the school.

Secondary application

Required
Yes
Fee
$80
Fee waiver available
Not stated
Deadline
Who receives it
Applicants with a verified AACOMAS application are eligible to receive a supplemental application; screening thresholds: science GPA 3.0 and MCAT 490. The supplemental fee is due only when invited to interview: WV residents waived, out-of-state residents $80.

Source: school-website. Verify with the school.

Cost of attendance and debt

In stateOut of state
Tuition and fees$23,594$56,394
Health insurance——
Total cost of attendance, year 1——

Tuition as listed on AACOM's Choose DO Explorer (self-reported by the college); fees and cost of attendance not included.

Source: AACOM Choose DO Explorer (listing with 75 campus cards) and per-college detail pages (aacom.org/detail-pages/com/...) (AACOM, retrieved 2026-10-13).

Entering class

Matriculated
207
MCAT (mean)
503
In-state
26%

Source: the school's published class profile (page), retrieved 2026-10-13. Statistics describe one entering class and are not cutoffs.

Notes

Accreditation statement on college site: WVSOM is fully accredited by the Commission on Osteopathic College Accreditation (COCA) ... Current Status: Accredited; Next Accreditation Visit: 2029-2030 | AACOM profile accreditation text: WVSOM is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission (HLC) and American Osteopathic Association’s Commission on Osteopathic College Accreditation (AOA COCA). Screening criteria (guidance only): science GPA 3.0 and MCAT 490 to receive a supplemental; competitive science GPA 3.2 and MCAT 498; averages 3.60 and 503. Applications via the AACOMAS 2027 cycle; review throughout the cycle; final transcripts due July 1. Lewisburg, WV.

Sources for this page

AAMC report data may be reproduced and distributed with attribution for individual, educational and noncommercial purposes. This page is free and carries no advertising.